This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

News Bureau • Schofield Hall 201Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900
Communication and Journalism Students
Receive Scholarships
MAILED: May 23, 2001

        EAU CLAIRE—Eighteen University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students were awarded scholarships during the Communication and Journalism Convocation May 8.
        Juniors Rachel Dunlap, a journalism major from Chaska, Minn., and Jessica Bock, a journalism major from Minong, were awarded $500 William Randolph Hearst Journalism Scholarships.
        Dunlap also received a $500 Marshall B. Atkinson Journalism Scholarship, and Bock also was one of the following four students to be awarded Arthur L. Murray Memorial Journalism Awards: Jonathan Gneiser, a senior journalism major from Berlin, received $1,600; Bock and Jessica Mortwedt, a journalism major from Altoona, each received $400; and freshman journalism major Matthew Resenhoeft, Bayside, received $100.
        Gneiser also received a $50 Robert Smith Memorial Scholarship and was one of two students to receive $750 Lee and Esther Sanford Hench Memorial Scholarships. The other award went to junior Leah Thorsen, a journalism major from Grand Meadow, Minn., who also was awarded a $1,400 Ann Devroy Fellowship for a residency and internship, as well as one of three awards from the Milwaukee Foundation’s Journal Foundation — Walter Jay and Clara Charlotte Damm Scholarship. These awards included $2,500 to Thorsen; $2,500 to junior Brian Scott, a communication major from Eagan, Minn.; and $1,000 to sophomore Ryan Mainhardt, a sophomore communication major from Rhinelander.
        Sophomore Sara Schultz, a journalism major from Kewaunee, received the Conner Award for Spectator Excellence and Promise in the amount of $250.
        Junior Aaron Unseth, a communications major from Plato, Minn., received a $100 Excellence in Communication Award.
        Senior Nick Sargent, a journalism major from Menomonee Falls, was awarded a $350 James E. Fields Journalism Scholarship.
        A $100 Joseph Giordano Memorial Scholarship was awarded to senior Melissa Leef, a public relations major from Webster.
        Senior Cristiana Oliveira, a journalism major from Brazil, was awarded a $600 Leslie D. Polk Scholarship.
        Junior Dan Meyer, a journalism major from Northfield, Minn., received a $250 Cindy Schott Humanitarian Award.
        Four different Sally A. Webb Scholarships were awarded: Maiknue Moua, a junior communication major from Green Bay, received a $500 Sally A. Webb Diversity Tuition Scholarship in Organizational Communication; Shu Ann Ching, a senior communication major from West Malaysia, received a $500 Sally A. Webb International Student Tuition Scholarship; senior Joanna Fisher, a communication major from Cecil, received a $1,000 Sally A. Webb Communication Tuition Scholarship; and Julie Brown, a sophomore communication major from Bloomington, Minn., received a $500 Sally A. Webb Tuition Scholarship for Study Abroad for an Organizational Communication Student.

UW-Eau Claire Home [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: May 23, 2001