This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

News Bureau   Schofield Hall 201  Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900
Organizations, Individuals Recognized
At Student Leadership Awards Ceremony
MAILED: March 9, 2001

          EAU CLAIRE — Seven student organizations, seven advisers and 141 individual nominees were recognized Feb. 21 at the 2001 Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.
          The accomplishments of student leaders, organizations and organization advisers are celebrated at the annual campus-wide program. The ceremony began with remarks by Dr. Ronald Satz, provost and vice chancellor, and Chancellor Donald Mash. “Famous Dave” Anderson, founder of Famous Dave’s Barbeque, addressed the assembled faculty, staff, students, friends and family with “Thoughts on Leadership.”
          Awards recognizing student organizations and advisers that have demonstrated distinguished service to campus and community, creative programming, and involvement in the university were presented by Charles Grossklaus, vice chairman of the UW-Eau Claire Foundation Inc.
          Sigma Tau Delta and the Society of Information Management received the two Student Organization Awards.
          The international Sigma Tau Delta is committed to distinguishing outstanding students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate and professional studies. The UW-Eau Claire chapter serves and builds relationships with the English community, including faculty, staff, students and the community at large. A children’s writing contest for Eau Claire area students, the English Career Program, and the annual English Festival held in spring, are examples of Sigma Tau Delta’s contributions to the university community.
          People join the Society of Information Management to learn about the new technology trends that businesses are using and to learn about different job opportunities in management information systems. The organization creates an opportunity for MIS classmates and professors to network with one another. The Society of Information Management has played an active role in the Internship Mania program, maintaining the Internship Mania Web site and recruiting companies to attend the program.
          The Student Organization Advisor Award was presented to Gloria Hochstein, English department senior lecturer. As adviser for Sigma Tau Delta, she was recognized for being as active as any member or officer and for encouraging other English department faculty to promote Sigma Tau Delta and help increase the organization’s membership.
          “She attends every meeting and every activity we host,” wrote Hochstein’s nominator. “She is right there with the students stacking dusty books or packing boxes.”
          Four of the 141 outstanding student leaders who were nominated by faculty, staff and students received the Student Leadership Awards presented by Timothy J. Coburn, president of the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association.
          Erin Brandt, a senior history major from Minnetonka, Minn., serves as the student body vice president at UW-Eau Claire and is heavily involved in community service projects. As a member of Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity and Delta Zeta sorority, Brandt has worked with Special Olympics, Habitat for Humanity, Empowered Leaders seminars for high school students, and highway cleanup projects.
          Brandon Byrd, a senior kinesiology major from Madison, has been involved in a variety of activities in addition to his course work at UW-Eau Claire. He has volunteered as a basketball coach, served as a referee for UW-Eau Claire and the city of Eau Claire, and has participated in a variety of camps including the Lac du Flambeau Nation pre-college camp and the National Youth Sports Program camp.
          Jacob Gapko, a senior physics major from Eau Claire, has served in the following leadership roles at UW-Eau Claire: president and vice president of the Society of Physics Students; president and Province X delegate for Omicron Delta Kappa honor society; off-campus student senator; and chair of the film committee of the University Activities Commission of the Student Senate. He is a strong advocate of student involvement on committees that represent student interests.
          Adam Nelson is a communication and history major from Menomonie. As a resident assistant at Towers Hall, he is an active member of Towers Hall Council and MOSAIC and has worked many hours for the Tunnel of Oppression. He was also the primary coordinator for the second annual Human Rights Awareness Conference at UW-Eau Claire last October. The National Youth Sports Program executive staff named him counselor of the week for his service as an NYSP lifeguard.
          The Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony is sponsored annually by the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association; Burger King of Eau Claire; Chartwells Inc.; the Dean of Students Office; the Chancellor’s Office; the Office of Academic Affairs; the UW-Eau Claire Foundation Inc.; the UW-Eau Claire Student Senate; and the Activities and Programs office.

UW-Eau Claire Home [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: March 11, 2001