This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
News Bureau   Schofield Hall 201  Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900
Area Students Score
At Annual Math Meet
MAILED: Feb. 28, 2001

          EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire hosted 168 students from 19 western Wisconsin high schools in the 19th annual regional Mathematics Meet held Feb. 17.
          The Eau Claire Memorial team, Integration Station, took first place in the large school AAA division with 170 points. Pi-rats, the Park Center Senior High team, Brooklyn Park, Minn., won the second-place trophy with 134 points.
          The Integration Station team featured Nick DeMeuse, Ben Maro, Mario O’Brien, Paul Ward, Brian Weber and Joe Wildenberg.
          Wildenberg, Eau Claire Memorial, and John Purdham, Park Center, tied for first place in Class AAA. Each was offered a $500 UW-Eau Claire scholarship funded by a grant from Xcel Energy to the sponsor, the UW-Eau Claire mathematics department.
          Second-place Class AAA honors went to Paul Ward, Eau Claire Memorial, who was offered a $300 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
          Tied for third-place honors were Ben Maro, Eau Claire Memorial; Katie Stubbendick, La Crosse Logan; and Brandon Thompson, Park Center. Each was offered a $200 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
          The Spencer team, Spencer Rockets, led the medium school AA division with 134 points, while the La Crosse Aquinas team, Axes, placed second with 115 points.
          The Spencer team consisted of Matt Hill, Andy Knecht, Matt Krasselt, Kurt Prins, Dan Schultz and Jim Spencer.
          Matt Krasselt, Spencer, and Chris Getter, West Salem, tied for first place Class AA individual honors. They were offered $500 UW-Eau Claire scholarships. Tying for second place were Brian Boeckmann, Osseo-Fairchild; Chris Gates, Black River Falls; Karl Gunderson, Durand; and Mike Olson, Ellsworth. Each was offered a $300 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
          In the small school A division, the McDonell Central High Mackmaticians II, Chippewa Falls, placed first with 87 points. The Cashton Conics and the Regis Green team tied for second place with 84 points.
          McDonell's team consisted of Phil Cigan, Matt Hofkes, Meagan Manning, Erin Pevan, Allison Pulver and Eric Sullivan.
          Samuel Javner, Prairie Farm, took first-place Class A individual honors. He was offered a $500 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
          Seth Hueckman, Prentice, placed second and was offered a $300 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
          Winning third place Class A individual honors was Matt Hofkes, McDonell, who was offered a $200 UW-Eau Claire scholarship, and Matt Hawn, Regis, took fourth place and was offered a $100 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
          Jeremy Dzubay advised the winning Eau Claire Memorial team. Jean Rehm advised the first-place Spencer team, and Tony Reiter advised McDonell, the first-place finisher in Class A.
          Other advisers were Ed Dillon, Park Center Senior High; Chuck Schmidt, La Crosse Aquinas; Joan Hamblin, Regis; and Gary Dickinson, Cashton.

UW-Eau Claire Home [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Feb. 28, 2001