This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
News Bureau   Schofield Hall 201  Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900
UW-Eau Claire Students Perform
In ‘The Mother of Us All’
MAILED: Feb. 14, 2001

          EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire’s University Theatre will perform “The Mother of Us All,” written by Gertrude Stein and composed by Virgil Thompson.
          The opera, showcasing the life of Susan B. Anthony, opens at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 22, in Gantner Concert Hall of the Haas Fine Arts Center. Additional performances are slated for 7:30 p.m. Feb. 23-24 and March 1-3 and 1:30 p.m. on Feb. 25.
          Dr. Robert Knight, associate professor of music and theatre arts, is the stage and music director and will conduct the orchestra for the production. Dr. Terry Allen, professor of music and theatre arts, is artistic consultant.
          Assistant professor of music and theatre arts Dr. Karen Brookens and graduate student Annelies Slack, Park Falls, will play the role of Susan B. Anthony. Junior Jacqueline Cobian, River Falls, will play Gertrude Stein, and freshman David Maas, Waunakee, will be Virgil Thompson.
          Professor of music and theatre arts Dr. Kathryn Proctor Duax will play the role of Anne. Lisa Butcher and Jeff Madison, seniors from Woodbury, Minn., will be Lillian Russell and Daniel Webster, respectively. Junior Brent McWithey, Ridgeland, will play Thaddeus Stevens.
          Freshman Jennifer Oestreich, Eau Claire, will play Henrietta, and junior Jennifer Weber, Menomonie, will play the role of Indiana Elliott. Senior Annemarie Travia, South Milwaukee, will play Angel More.
          Sophomore Rick Cedergren, Chisago City, Minn., will be Jo the Loiterer, and senior Joe Turba, Cumberland, will play John Adams. Freshman Stephen Howe, St. Paul, Minn., will play Chris the Citizen, and sophomore Kale Nelson, Frederic, will play the role of Donald Gallup. Senior Lisa Wilhelm, Boscobel, will be Jenny Reefer.
          Junior Jessica Timman, Plymouth, Minn., will be Isabel Wentworth. Junior Jason Sunde, Amery, will play the role of Andrew Johnson, and junior Amanda Fullan, Green Bay, will be Anna Hope.
          Sophomore Dan Wendorf, Horicon, will play Henry B, and junior Jordan Keller, Wisconsin Dells, will play the role of Anthony Comstock. Sophomore Justin Lundberg, Eau Claire, will play Gloster Heming.
          The chorus will consist of senior Erin Conery, Beloit; sophomore Emelia Polodna, La Crosse; and freshmen Wendy Neuberger, Menomonee Falls, and Amanda DePons, New Berlin.
          Senior Brian Benson, Rhinelander, will be the assistant director and stage manager, and senior Beth Janetski, River Falls, will be the scenic designer. Professor of music and theatre arts William Mellien will be the lighting designer, and Arthur Gulig, University Theatre technical director, will do the sound design. Ann Behrens, University Theatre staff, will do costume design.
          Tickets, available at the University Service Center, (715) 836-3727, are $9 for adults; $7 for those age 62 and older and children 17 and younger; and $6 for students, faculty and staff with a university ID.

UW-Eau Claire Home [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Feb. 14, 2001