This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
News Bureau   Schofield Hall 201  Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900
UW-Eau Claire Welcomes
New Faculty and Staff
MAILED: Sept. 6, 2000

          EAU CLAIRE — A number of new faculty and staff have joined the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire for the 2000-01 academic year.
          Dr. Ted Wendt joined the university as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.
          University Advancement welcomes Ann Moyer, director of annual giving, and Marcia Van Beek, director of major gifts.
          Joining Academic and Career Services are Sharon Becker, career and employment coordinator; Craig Kerr, adviser of the GEAR UP program; and Mary Kuzma, adjunct teacher/tutor coordinator of the GEAR UP program.
          The Academic Skills Center welcomes Signe Matson as student services coordinator.
          Jennifer Hinners joins University Centers and Programs as the events/performing arts planner. Paul Butrymowicz also joins University Centers and Programs as student organizations adviser.
          Joining the Housing and Residence Life staff as residence hall directors are Martin Gentry, Christina Hubert and Carl Mothes III. Ryan Banaszak joins Housing and Residence Life as an associate residence hall director.
          New faculty in the English department are Ruth Cronje, assistant professor; Joel Friederich, lecturer; and David Jones, assistant professor.
          The department of communication and journalism welcomes Dr. Michael Dorsher, assistant professor, and Kevin Singer, lecturer.
          Rosemary Battalio joins the department of special education as an assistant professor.
          The department of psychology welcomes assistant professors Lori Bica and Dr. David Jewett.
          Joining the sociology and anthropology department as lecturers are Dr. Tarique Niazi and Khaldoun Samman. Melissa Bonstead-Bruns also joins the sociology and anthropology department as an assistant professor.
          Ansel Brooks is an artist in Publications.
          Joining the departments of kinesiology and athletics are Michael Collins, lecturer/head women's ice hockey coach; Tonya Englund, associate lecturer/head women's basketball coach; Karl Fager, senior lecturer/strength and conditioning coordinator/assistant football coach; Jo Lindoo, senior lecturer/assistant softball and volleyball coach; Peggy Moline, associate lecturer and assistant women's basketball coach; and Tracy Saloka, head coach for men's and women's tennis. Also joining the departments of kinesiology and athletics are assistant professors Sean Bulger and Robert Welcher. Willard Rowlett is the new development program manager in the department of athletics.
          The chemistry department welcomes Dr. Michael Carney as an assistant professor.
          Amber Dernback is the student services coordinator for the Upward Bound program.
          Dr. Randy Dickerson and Dr. Richard Heidel are assistant professors in the music and theatre arts department.
          Joining the foundation of education department are assistant professors Dr. Barbara Erdman and Dr. Carol Koroghlanian.
          New faculty in the geography department include Dr. Douglas Faulkner, assistant professor, and Lisa Theo, lecturer.
          The department of nursing systems welcomes Julie Hanson, clinical instructor; Dr. Lois Taft, associate professor; and Dr. Mary Zwygart-Stauffacher, professor.
          Dr. Phillip Ihinger joined the department of geology.
          Joining the department of communication disorders as a lecturer is Mary Sue Jackson.
          Sallie Kernan is a new outreach specialist/counselor for the Educational Opportunity Center.
          Dr. Anthony Keys joined the management information systems department as an assistant professor. Abraham Nahm, assistant professor, and Brian Wright, associate lecturer, join the management and marketing department.
          The department of biology welcomes assistant professors Dr. Amy Krist and Dr. Sasha Showsh, and associate lecturer Jaime Malcore.
          Dr. Geoffrey Peterson joined the political science department as an assistant professor.
          The department of history welcomes assistant professor Teresa Sanislo.
          Dr. Vicki Whitledge joined the department of mathematics as an assistant professor.
          Elizabeth Wolf Green is the news editor in the News Bureau.

UW-Eau Claire Home [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Sept. 8, 2000