This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
News Bureau Schofield Hall 201 Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900
UW-Eau Claire Students
Receive Scholarships
MAILED: May 23, 2000

          EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire department of communication and journalism awarded several scholarships at its annual awards convocation May 11.
          Senior Lori Kurtzman, a journalism major from Circle Pines, Minn., was awarded the $1,000 Ann Devroy Fellowship and the $1,000 Marshall B. Atkinson Journalism Scholarship.
          Marsha Rantala, a senior communication major from Brule, received the $100 Excellence in Communication Award.
          The $300 James E. Fields Journalism Scholarship went to Jonathan Gneiser, a sophomore journalism major from Berlin.
          Senior journalism and comparative studies in religion major David Kuhn, Glendale, received the $250 Joanne Friedrick Journalism Scholarship for Outstanding Achievement in Print Journalism.
          Junior Lisa Grabowski, a journalism major from Delafield, and senior Lee Heike, a journalism major from De Pere, were presented with the $300 William Randolph Hearst Journalism Scholarship.
          Lee and Esther Sanford Hench Memorial Scholarships were presented to Lori Bower, Hastings, Minn., and Nicole Zimmerman, Rhinelander. Bower and Zimmerman are junior journalism majors and received $750 each.
          There were three recipients of the Arthur L. Murray Memorial Journalism Award. Journalism majors Elizabeth Kuntz, a senior from South St. Paul, Minn., Jessica Meier, a senior from Brookfield, and Nicholas Sargent, a junior from Menomonee Falls, each received $500.
          The $2,000 Milwaukee Foundation's Journal Foundation — Walter Jay and Clara Charlotte Damm Scholarship was presented to Cristiana Oliveira, Brazil, and Nicole Schultz, Cedarburg. Oliveira is a junior journalism and Spanish major, and Schultz is a sophomore art major. Oliveira also received the $500 Sally A. Webb International Student Tuition Scholarship.
          Adam Campbell, Green Bay, received the $400 Leslie D. Polk Scholarship. Campbell is a junior journalism major.
          Shana Kluge, Amery, received the $100 Kevin J. Schieffer Scholarship. Kluge is a junior communication major.
          The $250 Cindy Schott Humanitarian Award was presented to senior journalism major Gretchen Springer, Northfield, Minn.
          Branda Rochwerger, Brazil, received the $50 Robert Smith Memorial Scholarship. Rochwerger is a senior journalism major.
          The $500 Sally A. Webb Diversity Tuition Scholarship in Organizational Communication was presented to sophomore communication major Maiknue Moua, Green Bay.
          Tiffany Talcott, Spencer, received the $1,000 Sally A. Web Organizational Communication Tuition Scholarship. Talcott is a junior communication major.
          The $500 Sally A. Webb Tuition Scholarship for Study Abroad for an Organizational Communication Student was presented to Joanna Fischer, Cecil. Fischer is a junior communication major.

UW-Eau Claire Home [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: May 23, 2000