This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
News Bureau Schofield Hall 201 Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900
UW-Eau Claire Students Earn
Women's Studies Research Awards
MAILED: mailed date

EAU CLAIRE — Seventeen University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students recently were honored for their work on projects dealing with issues affecting women.
The students were recognized during the 2000 Women's Studies Awards Celebration for their graduate research, undergraduate research and undergraduate creative projects. The celebration was held in conjunction with Women's History Month and was dedicated to the memory of Robin Taylor, a women's studies minor who died last spring.
Graduate student Jayne Blodgett, Eau Claire, received the graduate award for her project titled "A.S. Byutt: A Postmodern Modernist."
Freshman Veeva Roeming, Eau Claire, earned the Helen X. Sampson first-place award in the undergraduate research paper category. Her paper was titled "Women Remember: The Importance of Female Perspective in Holocaust Studies." Three individuals were awarded second place: senior Heather Johnson, Eau Claire, for her paper "The Androgynous Zone in Shakespeare's Macbeth"; senior Kristen Seas, Northfield, Minn., for "Appetite: A Gender Power Struggle in Much Ado About Nothing"; and sophomore Amanda Schumacher, Peshtigo, for "The Power of a Story: Leslie Marmon's Use of Narrative to Inspire Women."
The Helen X. Sampson first-place award in the undergraduate creative project category was awarded to a group whose project was titled "In the Closet: The Darkness of Public Schools." The group consisted of seniors Amy Peterson, Schofield, Robert Schlidt, Hartford, and Terri Jo Songer, Wales. Second place was awarded to seniors Katie Berglund, Chisago City, Minn., Jennifer Klobassa, Apple Valley, Minn., and Jennifer Wagner, Apple Valley, Minn., for their project "The Book of Ruth." Tying for third place were seniors Sara Black, Clayton, for her project "Painting: Untitled," Heide Storlie, Farmington, Minn., for "Cumulative Portfolio of Creative Photography and Its Integration with Writing and Dance," and Liv Svanoe, Whitewater, for her project titled "Growing Up Girl."
Cash awards, sponsored by the UW-Eau Claire Foundation Inc., and certificates were given to each of the recipients.
The following recipients received cash awards from the sponsors of their awards:
August 1999 graduate Janet Dykema, Eau Claire, received the Marty Catherine and Caroline Kessler History Award, sponsored by Patricia Quinn, for her project "Royaleers and Rubberheads: Women Workers at Eau Claire's U.S. Rubber Plant, 1945-1974."
The Ruth Wolt Klein Award for work by a nontraditional student, sponsored by Ann Klein, went to December 1999 graduate Sung Hee Moon, South Korea, for her work "Korean Women in the U.S.A."
Junior Angela Sanders, Eau Claire, received the Margaret John Carlson and Edna Castleman John Award for Outstanding Poetry for her project "A Collection of Poems." The award was sponsored by Peg Lauber.

UW-Eau Claire Home [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]
Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: May 4, 2000