This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
Leadership Awards
Presented Feb. 16
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: March 6, 2000

EAU CLAIRE — Seven student organizations, six advisers and 140 individual nominees were recognized at the 2000 Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Feb. 16.
The accomplishments of student leaders, organizations and organization advisers are celebrated at the annual campus-wide program. The ceremony began with remarks by Dr. Ronald Satz, provost and vice chancellor, and Chancellor Donald Mash. Don Wisner, pastor of University Lutheran Church, addressed the assembled faculty, staff, students, friends and family with "Thoughts on Leadership."
Awards recognizing student organizations and advisers that have demonstrated distinguished service to campus and community, creative programming and involvement in the university were presented by Tim Coburn, president of the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association.
Two Student Organization Awards were presented — to Alpha Phi Omega (Eta Lambda chapter) and to Phi Beta Lambda (Delta Mu chapter).
Alpha Phi Omega assembles students at UW-Eau Claire for the purpose of developing friendship, leadership and service. Numbering 85 members, the organization promotes service to the student body, faculty, youth and community as participating citizens. APO has provided community service through its involvement with the March of Dimes, Special Olympics, Habitat for Humanity and the American Red Cross. Every semester the group sponsors a three-day blood drive on campus that attracts approximately 300 donors from the university community.
Phi Beta Lambda brings business and education together into a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs. Throughout the year PBL provides volunteer service to Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eau Claire, Indianhead Special Olympics and the March of Dimes. In 1999, the Delta Mu chapter hosted the State Leadership Conference for Phi Beta Lambda of Wisconsin, a conference that featured academic competitions, workshops, speakers and social events for PBL members from Wisconsin and Minnesota chapters.
The Student Organization Adviser Award was presented to James Oleson, associate professor of academic and career services at UW-Eau Claire. The adviser for Beta Upsilon Sigma, Oleson was recognized for challenging the organization to achieve its goals — to enrich understanding of accounting, business and economics, and to further business fellowship and education. He encouraged the group's involvement in planning and hosting the UW-Eau Claire Career Conference, an event that requires an extensive time commitment. A tireless promoter of the organization he advises, Oleson is regarded by the students who nominated him as a resource, an adviser and a friend.
Four of the 140 outstanding student leaders who were nominated by faculty, staff and students received the Student Leadership Awards presented by Dr. Jack B. Fistler, president of the UW-Eau Claire Foundation, Inc., and executive director of University Advancement.
Sophomore Melissa Lee Belmas, an elementary education major from Wausau, is an active member of Towers Hall Council, Future Teachers Club and National Residence Hall Honorary. As a volunteer Sunday-school teacher, she is a role model and resource for children. She believes that involvement in community and student organizations has helped her become a stronger and more confident leader.
Sophomore DeAnnah Byrd is a biology major from Madison. As a resident assistant in Towers Hall, she guides, advises and solves problems for her residents and plans events and activities for a wing of 36 students. Also a member of the Black Student Organization, an aerobics instructor for University Recreation and treasurer of the Pre-Med Club, she was recognized for demonstrating compassion, creativity and organizational ability.
Senior Shalyn Kay Crook is an elementary education major from Trempealeau. Her volunteer efforts, as well as her membership in the Student Wisconsin Education Association, the Student Council for Exceptional Children, Omicron Delta Kappa and Kappa Delta Pi (Epsilon Omicron) have been appreciated by the campus and community. Employed in the Dean of Students office, she demonstrates exceptional energy, enthusiasm and talent.
Senior Deanna Dennis is an English major from Appleton. In her three years with Campus Ambassadors she has proved an exemplary representative for UW-Eau Claire. Named the university's Woman of Color for 1999, she is vice-president of the Pre-Law Club and arranges presentations by local attorneys to the club membership.
The Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony is sponsored annually by the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association; Burger King of Eau Claire; Chartwells, Inc.; the UW-Eau Claire Dean of Students office; the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Foundation, Inc.; the UW-Eau Claire Student Senate; and University Centers and Programs.

UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: March 6, 2000