This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
UW-Eau Claire Commencement
Slated for Aug. 7
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: July 29, 1999

EAU CLAIRE — Summer commencement exercises for 192 candidates for graduation will begin at 9:30 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 7, in Zorn Arena at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.
The ceremony is open to everyone and tickets are not required.
A total of 145 undergraduate students will receive bachelor's degrees, including 60 from the College of Arts and Sciences and 47 from the College of Business. Within the College of Professional Studies, eight students will receive bachelor's degrees from the School of Education and 30 from the School of Human Sciences and Services.
A total of 47 graduate students will receive master's degrees. These graduates include 14 from the College of Arts and Sciences and two from the College of Business. Within the College of Profession Studies, 30 students will receive master's degrees from the School of Education and one from the School of Nursing.
Chancellor Donald Mash will confer degrees and preside over the ceremony. Provost and Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs Ronald Satz will present the candidates. University Senate Chair Susan Harrison will be the commencement marshal.
The brass quintet Quintessence will provide music for the ceremony. Annelies L. Slack, a 1998 UW-Eau Claire alumna, will lead the National Anthem and University Alma Mater.
Elizabeth Jones Herlihy, a UW-Eau Claire alumna, will deliver the "Charge to the Class." Jones Herlihy is a professor of English at Glendale Community College in Glendale, Ariz. Her speech is titled "Through the Arch."
Jori Lyn White, a candidate for a bachelor's degree in elementary education, will present the "Response from the Class." White, Wisconsin Dells, will teach kindergarten at Lakeshore School in Eau Claire after graduation.
James Bollinger, an alumnus of UW-Eau Claire and assistant chancellor emeritus of facilities planning and management at UW-Eau Claire, will be honored as the recipient of the 1999 Alumni Distinguished Service Award.
Terry Chmielewski, associate professor of communication and journalism, will be the reader.
A reception for graduates will be held immediately following the ceremony in the Spruce-Tamarack Room of Davies Center.

UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: July 29, 1999