This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
UW-Eau Claire Honors
Student Leaders
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: March 3, 1999

EAU CLAIRE — Nine student organizations and 143 University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students were recognized in February at a reception honoring their accomplishments as student leaders.
Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor Thomas Miller introduced the nominees during the 1999 Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony Feb. 17. Chancellor Donald Mash addressed the faculty, staff, students, families and friends who had gathered for the reception. Mash's speech was titled "Thoughts on Leadership."
The following organizations were selected from the nominees for special recognition:
  • Residence Hall Activities Board, an organization that provides campuswide programming and advanced leadership opportunities for students. RHAB has sponsored bus trips to large events and hosts the well-known Lip Jam activity. The group also is involved with Lil' Sibs Weekend Carnival, and played a role in the Mixed Blood Theatre Company's presentation of the short play "Minnecanos." In addition, the organization works with University Recreation on a program that provides students with alternatives to house parties.
  • Student Council for Exceptional Children, an organization that increases student awareness about the field of special education. With 174 members, the group strives to have a positive influence on the lives of children, families and professionals. The organization has sponsored recreational and social activities for individuals with disabilities and their parents, assisted with food and clothing drives, and volunteered for Special Olympics. The group's most creative project is The Swaziland Project in which they act and serve as consultants for special education teachers in North Africa. Participants have volunteered more than 300 hours of service learning.
UW-Eau Claire students who were selected from among the nominees for special recognition and scholarship awards were:
  • Christina Dahlke, a sophomore biochemistry/molecular biology major from Menomonie. Dahlke has been a resident assistant, an orientation assistant, a teacher assistant and has been active in Hall Council, the Pre-Dentistry Club and the Wisconsin Indian Education Association.
  • Mike Steffen, a senior management major from Kimberly. Steffen is an established leader who has excelled in his efforts to organize the Organizations Commission of the Student Senate. He has served on numerous commissions of the Student Senate, and has been a residence hall wing representative. He also has volunteered for the Special Olympics and the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Telefund.
  • Sunshine Hedlund, a senior social work major from Maple Grove, Minn. She is an effective student activist and organizer. Her contributions to the area of cultural diversity has been most meaningful to the campus. She has been active with the College Feminists, Student Senate, Association of Student Social Workers, Bolton Refuge House, Special Olympics, GLOBE and Planned Parenthood.
  • Alma Rivera, a senior Spanish major from Grantsburg. Rivera is a resident assistant in Katharine Thomas Hall. She frequently has taken the initiative to identify and address resident concerns and community problems. She has been president of Sigma Delta Pi, the national Spanish Honor Society and also has participated in diversity causes such as MOSAIC and the Circle of Change. In addition, she is a Campus Ambassador and has studied abroad.
  • Kevin Weier, a senior management major from Janesville. Weier is a Campus Ambassador. He also has been involved with the Society of Participating Honor Students, the American Marketing Association, the Mortar Board and the Student Senate. He served as chair of the Solicitation Committee for the SOPHS Telethon, which raised more than $1,300 for United Cerebral Palsy.


UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: March 4, 1999