This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
Area Students Score High
At Annual Math Meet
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: Feb. 24, 1999

EAU CLAIRE — More than 200 students from 22 western Wisconsin high schools participated in the 17th annual regional Mathematics Meet at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Feb. 13.
The La Crosse Logan team, the Radical Rangers, received first place in the large school AAA division with 180 points. The Eau Claire Memorial team, the Complex Solutions, won second place with 178 points. The Radical Rangers team featured Brian Barrett, Scott Bothun, Karsten Olsen, Jake Sorenson, Jay Snider and Peter Tyser.
Barrett, Sorenson and Tyser, who tied for first place individual honors with 37 points, were each offered a $500 UW-Eau Claire scholarship funded by a grant from Northern States Power.
Fourth place honors went to Tim Lau of Hudson, who scored 28 points and was offered a $100 UW-Eau Claire scholarship.
The Osseo-Fairchild team, Optimistic Factors, led the medium school AA division with 187 points. The Durand team, Alphas, placed second with 185 points. Osseo-Fairchild's team consisted of Scott Brown, Victor Fegtes, Judy Kaufman, Steven Glocke, Nicky Holm and Ian Schwartz.
First place AA division individual honors went to Schwartz, who scored 35 points. Kaufman of Osseo-Fairchild, Reanna Titus of Durand and Reuben Bigjohn of West Salem took second place honors with 32 points.
Schwartz was offered a $500 UW-Eau Claire scholarship. Bigjohn, Kaufman and Titus were each offered a $300 scholarship from the university.
In the small school A division, the Improper Fractions from Eau Claire Regis placed first with 170 points. McDonell placed second with 158 points.
The Eau Claire Regis team consisted of Amy McFarlane, Marty Mertens, Kristin Oas, Joel Sackett, Adam Thorson and Becky Winter.
Michael Rusch of Rib Lake scored 40 points for first place A division individual honors and was offered a $500 UW-Eau Claire scholarship. Oas of Eau Claire Regis scored 37 points to take second place honors and was offered a $300 scholarship from the university.
McFarlane of Eau Claire Regis, Bobby Swoboda of McDonell, Colin Fletcher of Brookfield and Elizabeth Huber of Prairie Farm all took third place honors with 32 points and were each offered $200 scholarships from UW-Eau Claire.
Other AAA division individual winners were Ryan Barrows from Eau Claire North, and Justin Seningen and Matt Pantzlaff from Eau Claire Memorial.
Other AA division individual winners were Tiffany Black of Durand, Henry Bangsberg of West Salem, Garrett Boettcher and Steve Glocke of Osseo-Fairchild, Matt Peterson of Stanley-Boyd and Sarah Prochaska of Black River Falls.
Mark Englerth advised the winning La Crosse Logan team. Paul Nelson advised the Osseo-Fairchild team and John McNamara advised the Eau Claire Regis team. Other advisers included Mark Slepica of Eau Claire Memorial, Dean Brunner of Durand and Tony Reiter of McDonell.

UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Feb. 25, 1999