This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
Foundation Diversity Scholars Awards Presented During UW-Eau Claire's American Ethnic Potluck
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: Oct. 12, 1998

EAU CLAIRE — Seven students from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire received Foundation Diversity Scholarships totaling $3,000 during the annual American Ethnic Coordinating Office Student Recognition Potluck in September.
The Johannes Dahle Multicultural Scholarship was created in 1994 by the American Ethnic Coordinating Office in appreciation of the commitment to and support of multicultural students by Johannes Dahle during his tenure as director of Development and University Relations at UW-Eau Claire. Receiving the $500 scholarship was Adrienne Cohen, a senior biochemistry and molecular biology major from Wauwatosa.
Receiving the $250 Moya Novak Scholarship was Sou Yang, a junior management information systems major from Wausau. This scholarship was created in 1996 by Jim Vance, director of the American Ethnic Coordinating Office, in appreciation of the commitment to and support of multicultural student workers shown by Moya Novak during her tenure as program assistant in the American Ethnic Coordinating Office.
Thomas Ngo, a junior Spanish major from Bayport, Minn., received the $500 Chuckie Graves Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship was established through the UW-Eau Claire Foundation in honor of the former Blugold basketball star who died while playing basketball near his home in Dallas, Texas.
The Henry Aaron Merit Scholarship was created to recognize Hank Aaron's role as a national leader and inspiration to those who find themselves in the struggle for racial equality. Receiving $250 scholarships were Debbie Ledo-Anderl, a senior American Indian studies major from Fall Creek, and Randy Perine, a senior marketing major from Milwaukee.
Receiving the $1,000 Randy and Chris Perine Washington High School Scholarship was Michael Harrison, an undeclared freshman from Milwaukee. This scholarship was created in 1988 by Jim Vance to recognize the outstanding support provided by Washington High School and named after Chris and Randy Perine, two outstanding Washington High School graduates.
The $250 American Bank Diversity Scholarship was presented to Pamela Miller, a senior social work major from Hayward. This scholarship was created in 1988 by American Bank and is an example of its commitment to diversity.


UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Oct. 12, 1998