This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
School of Education Diversity Scholarships Presented During UW-Eau Claire's American Ethnic Potluck
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: Oct. 12, 1998

EAU CLAIRE — Two students from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire received UW-Eau Claire School of Education Diversity Scholars Awards totaling $750 during the annual American Ethnic Coordinating Office Student Recognition Potluck in September.
Receiving the $250 Frances Barron-Thompson Scholarship for Teacher Education was Jason Dunn, an undeclared sophomore from San Diego, Calif. This scholarship was created in 1993 by Jim Vance, director of the American Ethnic Coordinating Office, in the name of his first-grade teacher, Frances Barron, a longtime teacher in the Beloit public schools.
The Henry and Shirley Vance School of Education Merit Scholarship for $500 was presented to Steve Crutchley, a senior social studies major from Black River Falls. This scholarship was created in 1988 by the sons, Gerald, Francis and Jim Vance, in honor of the late Henry and Shirley Vance in recognition of the value they placed on education for their children.

UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Oct. 12, 1998