This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
Super Six Winners, Hall of Fame Inductees
To Be Honored at Oct. 4 Luncheon
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: Sept. 24, 1998

EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire department of kinesiology and athletics and the Alumni Association will sponsor the Hall of Fame/Super Six Award Luncheon Sunday, Oct. 4, in the Tamarack Room of Davies Center.
A reception will begin at 11:30 a.m. followed by a noon luncheon to honor the Super Six winners and Hall of Fame inductees.
The Super Six winners are Jim Anderson of Rice Lake, Marcus Novy of Antigo, Ryan Richards of Oshkosh, Tanya Bauer of Mondovi, Marnie Blau of Waunakee and Jenny Deitte of Sun Prairie.
Tim Petermann, assistant to the director of athletics, said coaches are allowed to nominate two Super Six athletes from every sport. Once a ballot is prepared, coaches and athletes vote for their choices.
In order for athletes to be considered, they must have completed their third or fourth athletic season, Petermann said.
The 1998 Hall of Fame inductees are: Bob Clotworthy, diving coach, 1982-86; Kim Hubbard-Hartung, diving, 1985-90; Jeff Jaraczewski (deceased), hockey, 1985-89; Todd Laverty, swimming, 1975-81; Stephanie Strzalka, swimming, 1985-88; and Janel (Kempen) West, basketball, 1985-90.
The Hall of Fame induction, which began in 1973, chooses its inductees via a selection committee. The committee takes about three men and three women each year, Petermann said.
Family, friends and the public are invited to participate in the luncheon. The cost is $12 per person. Tickets are available by calling the Alumni Association at (715) 823-3266, or at the door on the day of the event. For additional information, contact the Alumni Association.

UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Sept. 24, 1998