This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
Faculty, Academic Staff Promotions
Announced at UW-Eau Claire
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: June 19, 1998

EAU CLAIRE -- As a result of action by the University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents June 5, UW-Eau Claire Interim Chancellor Marjorie Smelstor has announced promotions in rank and tenure and other changes of status for members of the faculty and academic staff.
Faculty promoted to professor were Maria DaCosta, economics; Robert Eierman, chemistry; Ronald Decker, management and marketing; Roger Tlusty, foundations of education; and Marjorie Oleson, nursing systems. Vanissa Murphy, music and theatre arts, and Daniel Newman, music and theatre arts, were promoted to associate professor. Robin Beeman, adult health nursing, and Josette Jones, adult health nursing, were promoted to assistant professor.
Granted tenure and promoted to associate professor were Cheryl Muller, chemistry; Kim Pierson, physics and astronomy; Kent Syverson, geology; Jack Tan, computer science; Steven Tallant, social work; and Sheila Smith, adult health nursing. Timothy Leutwiler, communication and journalism, was granted tenure and promoted to assistant professor.
Faculty granted tenure were Robert Hollon, curriculum and instruction, and Karen Pope, library.
The following academic staff received promotions: JoEllen Bailey, kinesiology, to senior lecturer; Jon Bollinger, Recreation, to student services program manager I; Vicki Crane, sociology and anthropology, to senior lecturer; Kay Magadance, Business and Student Services, to policy and planning analyst; Denise Pedersen, University Advancement, to development program manager I; Sheila Pederson, Publications, to senior artist; Paula Stuettgen, University Centers and Programs, to senior student services coordinator; and Bruce Warren, sociology and anthropology, to senior lecturer.
Academic staff granted indefinite status were Margaret Barnard, Children's Center; Marcia Bollinger, School of Nursing; Peggy Gausman, Academic Affairs; Art Lyons, Academic Skills Center; Dr. Joanne Mellema, Health Services; Linda Spaeth, Academic Skills Center; Patricia Stoffers, Academic Skills Center; and Dr. Mark Williams, Health Services.


UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: June 18, 1998