This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
UW-Eau Claire Students Win
ASBMB Awards
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: Sept. 5, 1997

EAU CLAIRE -- Two University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire undergraduate students were winners in the first American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Undergraduate Poster Awards.

The awards were part of the 17th International Congress of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology held in August in San Francisco.

A poster presentation given by senior biochemistry/molecular biology major Peter Mikulecky titled "Method for Measuring Ion Currents/Channel Selectivity for Peptides in Vesicle Systems" was a winner. Mikulecky is from Whitefish Bay.

Jessica Scott, a junior biochemistry/molecular biology major who is in the pre-medicine program, presented a poster titled "Formation of Ion Selective Channels in Sterol-Free Membranes by Amphotericin B." The presentation by Scott, of Dodgeville, also was a winner.

Also making a poster presentation was Tracy Ruckwardt, a senior biochemistry/molecular biology major from Pittsville. Her poster presentation was titled "Unusual Highly Anion Selective Channel Formed By 17-Deoxyroflamycoin."

Scott Hartsel, associate professor of chemistry, made a presentation titled "Web Term papers and Chime: A New Way of Presenting Structural Information. Hartsel made the presentation at the "2001: Biochemistry Education for the Millennium" satellite meeting.

The presentations were judged by a distinguished panel of biochemists. Winners received $100. The only other institution with as many winners as UW-Eau Claire was Harvard.


UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: Sept. 5, 1997