This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
Society of Professional Journalists Names Award Winners
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: April 22, 1997

EAU CLAIRE - University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire publications took top honors in their categories in the regional Mark of Excellence competition sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists.

The awards were announced April 12 at the Society's regional convention in Minneapolis.

The Spectator won first place among non-daily student newspapers in the North and South Dakota, Minnesota and Wisconsin region. Dimension won first place among campus magazines.

The Spectator and Dimension entries now move to national Mark of Excellence judging where they will compete against first place winners from 11 other regions.

In individual competition, Chris Carr, a junior from Eden Prairie, Minn., won a first place award for sportswriting. Carr has been editor and sports editor of The Spectator and a sportswriter for the Eau Claire Leader-Telegram. He also will be in the running for a national Mark of Excellence.

Anne Gruber, a senior from Marshall, Minn., won a second place award in the television feature category.


UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: April 22, 1997