This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
Kappa Tau Alpha Members Initiated at UW-Eau Claire
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: April 22, 1997

EAU CLAIRE - Six University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire journalism students were initiated into Kappa Tau Alpha, the journalism honor society which recognizes scholarship among junior and senior journalism students.

If more than 10 percent of the students have achieved a 3.34 or better resident and cumulative gradepoint average, only the top 10 percent will be admitted.

The initiates were Adrienne Leavitt (a December 1996 graduate), New Holstein; Craig McHugh, Madison; Mindy Merryfield, Eau Claire; Scott Peterson, Deerfield; Holly Pyrek, Horicon; and Kevin Theese, Cumberland.

The initiation took place at the Department of Communication and Journalism Convocation April 17.

Paul Meznarich, Altoona, a December 1996 graduate, was announced at the Convocation as the recipient of the Kappa Tau Alpha "Top Scholar" award which is given to the graduating journalism major with the highest gradepoint. Meznarich now is a copy editor at the Gazette-Times in Corvallis, Ore.


UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: April 22, 1997