This news release describes past events and should be used for historical purposes only. Please note date of release.
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield Hall 218
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
1997 Women's Studies Award Winners Announced
phone (715) 836-4741
fax (715) 836-2900

MAILED: March 26, 1997

EAU CLAIRE - Fourteen students have been recognized by the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Women's Studies program for their exemplary work on projects and research emphasizing the contributions and roles of women.

The Women's Studies Celebration was held Thursday, March 13, where 31 entries were introduced and recognized. Projects and papers were analyzed by a cross-disciplinary panel of UW-Eau Claire faculty, staff and students which determined the awards in three categories and four special award categories.

In the undergraduate research paper category four awards were given. Senior Jules Gehrke, Milwaukee, was awarded the Helen X. Sampson Award with a first place award for his paper "Arsenic of a Miscarriage of Justice? A Study of Gender in the Elizabeth Russel Trial." Dr. James Oberly, professor of history, was faculty mentor. Junior Sunshine Hedlund, Maple Grove, Minn., finished second with her paper "The Dividing of a Movement: An Analysis on the Interaction Between Women and African American Suffrage." Dr. Steve Tallant, assistant professor of social work, was faculty mentor. Special student Emily Anderson, Eau Claire, earned a third place award for her paper titled "Jane Austen and Feminism." Dr. Doug Waters, professor of English, was faculty mentor. Senior Carolyn Tarpey, Sheboygan, also received a third place award for her paper "Cinderella Gets Invited to the Prom: A Brief Moment of Bliss Reflected in Literature for Today's Young Women." The faculty mentor was Dr. Katherine Rhoades, lecturer in women's studies.

In the undergraduate project category senior Melissa Paulson, Clear Lake, was awarded first place and received the Helen X. Sampson Award for her work titled "Amery" and "Poems." The faculty mentor was Peg Lauber, associate professor of English. Junior Eric Olson, Amery, received second place for his project "Gender Issues 2000." Rhoades was faculty mentor. Senior Loriann Barcus, Menomonie, earned third place with "A Landscape of the Psyche: A Woman Beyond the Shadow." The faculty mentor was Sarah Harder, women's studies coordinator. Sophomore Jennifer Swedell, Lakeland, Minn., also received a third place award for her project "Flow: 12 Women Exploring Directions on the Twin Cities Artscape." The faculty mentor was Steve Terwillinger, associate professor of art.

In the graduate category, Rebecca Gochanour, Eau Claire, was awarded first place and the Helen X. Sampson Award for her project titled "The Mother-Daughter Mystery in Jamaica Kincaid's Fiction." Karen Loeb, associate professor of English, was faculty mentor. Sylvia Oberle, Stanley, was awarded second place for her project "Third Crop." John Hildebrand, professor of English, was faculty mentor.

Four students were recognized with specially sponsored awards. Sophomore Kate Barrington, an exchange student from Somerset, England, was awarded the Margaret John Carlson Fiction Award for her project titled "A Hint of Magnolia." Faculty mentor was Lauber. The Ruth Wolt Klein Award, created to recognize the work by a nontraditional student, was given to senior Susan Gignac, Eau Claire, for her project "What is Good for the Gander is Good for the Goose. Or Is It? Do Women Need Alternatives to Twelve Step Programs?" The faculty mentor was Dr. Katherine Schneider, senior psychologist with Counseling Services. Senior Jeannine Strunk, Fort Atkinson, was awarded the Mary Catherine and Caroline Kessler History Award for her project "To Aim at the Very Best: Agnes Barland McDaniel, Woman on a Mission." The faculty mentor was Lawrence Lynch, UW-Eau Claire archivist. The Edna Castleman John Poetry Award was given to graduate student Beth Bretl, Chetek, for her work "Ritual: Portion of Thesis." Dr. Christian Knoeller, assistant professor of English, was faculty mentor.

All research and written projects are maintained in the Women's Studies Resource Center, Fine Arts 165. For more information regarding the awards or the projects, contact Cynthia Welch at (715) 836-5717.

UWEC [Administrative Offices] [News Bureau]

Janice B. Wisner
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 218
(715) 836-4741

Updated: April 8, 1997