University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

New Play 'The Holmes-Pitezel Case,'
To Premiere at UW-Eau Claire Oct. 14

 MAILED:  Oct. 4, 2004

EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire's University Theatre production of "The Holmes-Pitezel Case," a new play written and directed by Dr. Terry Allen, professor of theatre arts, will premiere at 7:30 p.m., Thursday, Oct. 14, in the Riverside Theatre. Additional performances will take place at 7:30 p.m., Oct. 15, 16 and 18-23, and at 1:30 p.m., Oct. 24.

Based on a true story, the play concerns Detective Frank P. Geyer's investigation of a suspicious death following the Chicago World's Fair of 1893. As the detective searches for evidence to the mysterious case, he eventually uncovers one of the most tragic crimes in American history.

Senior Paul Bleier, Wautoma, will play detective Frank P. Geyer, and junior Mark Saienga, Lakeville, Minn., will be acting as H.H. Holmes. Senior Leahkim Gannett, Pepin, will play Mrs. Carrie Pitezel, and Ashley Smith, a junior from Spring Green, will play Alice Pitezel. Freshman Hanna Agar, Westby, will play the roles of spectator 10, salesclerk, hotel proprietess, and skeleton; senior Jennifer Aldridge, Eau Claire, will play spectator 6, the scabby woman, the Georgiana yoke, and a skeleton; sophomore Andrew D. Christianson, La Crosse, will play spectator 11, the coroner's physician, deputy superintendent of police, a farmer, a real estate agent, George Bowman, and the foreman; and junior Michael Evano, Minneapolis, Minn., will play spectator 7, the doctor, Marion Hedgepeth and district attorney Graham.

Senior Bria Fraundorf, Antigo, will play the roles of spectator 4, Clara Mudgett, Mrs. Armburst and a skeleton; sophomore Tera Kaminski, Waupaca, will be playing the roles of spectator 8, Henrietta Hill and Adella Alcorn; senior Daniel Largent, Mondovi, will play spectator 5, attorney Jeptha D. Howe, the conductor and the janitor; junior Aaron Loy, Rosemount, Minn., will play spectator 3, Mr. LeForrest, a Scotsman, Charles Chappell, and Count Clerk.

Ben Jacob Seidman, a sophomore from Milwaukee, will perform the roles of spectator 12, the St. Louis manager, a newspaper reporter, agent Francis Winshoff, and C.A. Bradenburg; senior Eric Glen Traxler, Boyceville, will be playing spectator 1, L.G. Fouse, Judge Arnold and Erickson; and sophomore Abbie Williams, Roberts, will play spectator 2, Mrs. Myrta Holmes and a skeleton.

Director and playwright Allen created the sound design with Art Gulig, technical director of the show and the university music and theatre arts department. Jody Sekas, assistant professor of music and theatre arts, is in charge of scenic and lighting design.

Senior Yulisa Lin, Chinandega, Nicaragua, is the assistant director and stage manager and senior Colin Wanke, St. Paul, Minn., is the assistant stage manager. Junior Ryan Zirngibl, Medford, is the assistant scene designer and senior Tom Teer, Hayward, is the prop designer.

Senior Brian Hatfield, Walworth, is the assistant lighting designer, and senior Nancy Jo Giles, Eau Claire, is in charge of costuming, publicity and the lightboard. Senior Paul Barnes, Little Falls, Minn., is the sound board operator, and sophomore Laura Anderson, Cottage Grove, Minn., is the stage crew.

David Knowlton is the scene shop supervisor; senior Sarah Danke, Wales, is the assistant costume designer. Heidi O’Hare is the production's costume shop supervisor.

Tickets, available at the University Service Center, (715) 836-3727 or (800) 949-UWEC, are $9 for the general public; $7 for those 62 and older; $6 for those 17 and younger and UW-Eau Claire faculty and staff with a university ID; and $5 for students with a university ID.



UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: October 4, 2004