University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

UW-Eau Claire Commencement
Set for Aug. 7

 MAILED:  July 28, 2004

EAU CLAIRE - Summer commencement exercises for 209 candidates for graduation will begin at 9:30 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 7, in Zorn Arena at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

The ceremony is open to everyone, and tickets are not required.

A total of 178 undergraduate students will receive bachelor's degrees, including 73 from the College of Arts and Sciences, 48 from the College of Business and 57 from the College of Professional Studies. Bachelor's degree recipients from the College of Professional Studies will include 22 from the School of Education, 34 from the School of Human Sciences and Services, and one from the School of Nursing.

Thirty-one graduate students will receive master's degrees. The graduates include nine from the College of Arts and Sciences, including one specialist in education degree. Four students will receive master's degrees from the College of Business. Within the College of Professional Studies, 16 students will receive master's degrees from the School of Education and two from the School of Nursing.

Chancellor Donald Mash will preside over the ceremony and confer the degrees. Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor Steve Tallant will present the candidates. University Senate Chair Susan Harrison will be commencement marshal. Rachel Kohn will provide signing for the hearing impaired.

Elizabeth Burmaster, Wisconsin's state superintendent of Public Instruction, will deliver the "Charge to the Class." Burmaster earned her bachelor's and master's degrees from UW-Madison and holds an honorary doctorate from Beloit College. She worked as a public school teacher and administrator at every level - elementary, middle and high school - for 25 years before being elected to state office. She is a third-generation Wisconsin teacher.

Adam Coolidge, Eau Claire, a candidate for a bachelor of science degree in mathematics, and Brian Woodhull, Houston, Texas, a candidate for a bachelor of arts degree in English/creative writing will both present "Reflections."

The following alumni and honorary alumni will be recognized as alumni award recipients: Dr. Rita Kisting Sparks, professor emerita, nursing systems, will receive the Honorary Alumnus Award; Thomas Griffith, a 1980 graduate, and Susan Perry-Lindle, a 1971 graduate, will receive Alumni Distinguished Achievement Awards; and Charles Grossklaus, a 1969 graduate, and Carol Van Dam Falk, a 1981 graduate, will receive President's Awards. (Read more about the alumni award recipients.)

Dr. J. Kenneth Davidson, professor emeritus of sociology, will be recognized for his service to the university. Davidson retired from UW-Eau Claire this month after 28 years.

The Eau Claire Chamber Orchestra Brass Quintet (Keith Thompson and Dave Mueller, trumpets; Andrew Parks, horn; Keith Hilson, trombone; and Jerry Young, tuba) will provide music for the ceremony. Danielle Fields, Bruce, a candidate for a bachelor of science degree in elementary education with a music emphasis, will lead the singing of the national anthem and "University Alma Mater."

Paula Lentz, lecturer in business communications, will announce the candidates' names during the presentation of diplomas.

A reception for graduates and guests will follow the ceremony on the lawn near the clock tower on the Central Campus Mall. The reception will be in the Spruce-Tamarack Room of Davies Center if it rains.



UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: August 2, 2004