University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

Eight Computer Science Students
To Be Awarded Karlgaard Scholarships

 MAILED:  July 22, 2004

EAU CLAIRE - Eight computer science students at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire have been awarded Karlgaard Computer Science Scholarships, which cover either full or half tuition for one academic year.

John Block, a returning senior from Appleton, will receive a Karlgaard scholarship. The following incoming freshmen also will receive Karlgaard scholarships: David Breen, Wisconsin Rapids; Jeffrey Digmann, Allenton; Bjorn Hanson, Eau Claire; Brandon Merrill, Spooner; Kyla Perlongo, Bruce; Benjamin Rogers, Eau Claire; and Jordan Rooker, Cottage Grove, Minn.

All Karlgaard Scholars are either computer science or software engineering majors at UW-Eau Claire and must collaborate with a computer science faculty member to produce at least one scholarly publication and/or formal presentation external to UW-Eau Claire in each of their junior and senior years.

The Karlgaard Computer Science Scholarship Fund was established in April 2002 as part of the Karlgaard Excellence in Computer Science Program. The program is funded by a $500,000 pledge from David and Marilyn Karlgaard of Fairfax, Va., to the UW-Eau Claire Foundation's ongoing comprehensive fund-raising campaign, Fulfilling the Promise of Excellence. The Karlgaards' campaign gift also includes a $4 million trust, which ultimately will endow the Karlgaard Excellence in Computer Science Program.

Besides the scholarships for computer science students, the Karlgaard Excellence in Computer Science Program supports excellence awards for computer science faculty and matches contributions for equipment or software received by the computer science department from private industry partners or external grants.

David and Marilyn Karlgaard, national chairs of Fulfilling the Promise of Excellence, both are natives of western Wisconsin and attended UW-Eau Claire during the 1960s. David Karlgaard is a 1967 UW-Eau Claire graduate.

The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is consistently recognized by U.S. News & World Report and other national publications as one of the nation's best educational values and among the top public regional universities in the Midwest. For more information on scholarship opportunities, visit the UW-Eau Claire Web site.



UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: July 22, 2004