University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

UW-Eau Claire Biology Department
Announces Scholarship and Award Recipients

 MAILED:  May 18, 2004

EAU CLAIRE - The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire biology department recently held a spring reception to honor graduating seniors in biology and present numerous scholarships, biology research poster awards and other special awards.

The following students received pre-medicine scholarships:

Justin Frey, Sauk City, received the George and Peggy Fleming Scholarship.

Michelle Pickett, Milwaukee, received the Ed and Beth Hicks Scholarship.

Claire Miller, Green Bay, received the Charles M. and Isabel Ihle Scholarship.

Allison Mc Lachlan, Duluth, Minn., received the David and Alice Katz Scholarship.

Eric Quandt, Oshkosh, received the James and Colleen O'Connor Scholarship.

Jerry Ejuwa, Eagan, Minn., received the Daniel Kincaid Pre-Medicine Scholarship.

The following students received pre-dentistry scholarships:

Summer Drews, Rhinelander, received the Jeffrey and Karen Jones Scholarship.

Christopher Buege, Hudson, received the Paul and Linda Kuehn Scholarship.

Nicholas Cartwright, a biochemistry and molecular biology major from Chippewa Falls, and Rebecca Spaeth,a biology education major from Chippewa Falls, received William E. Slagg Memorial Scholarships.

Frey and Sarah Watson, Green Bay, received Ralph Duxbury Biology Scholarships.

Lisa Grosvold, Holcombe, and Benjamin Schmiege, Madison, received the Leoba Hogan Scholarship for Scientific Research, given to students who have financial need and are interested in scientific research or are involved in research projects in one of the UW-Eau Claire science departments.

Krista Bowman, Roberts, was awarded the Robert G. Fossland Scholarship, given to a senior biology major who has demonstrated outstanding scholastic achievement.

Dustin VanOverbeke, Springfield, Minn., received the Mary Lou Gerberich Scholarship, given to a senior with an emphasis in entomology and/or invertebrates. He also was awarded the Jeremy and Elizabeth Smith Scholarship for Environmental Science, which carries with it a full tuition award for next year. This scholarship is given to a junior majoring in one or more of the natural sciences.

Jodi Swanson, Eau Claire, also received the Mary Lou Gerberich Scholarship as well as an award from the Owen Marshall Memorial Fund and the Michael F. Fredrich Science Scholarship, which includes full tuition for next year. The Owen Marshall Memorial Fund is awarded to a junior or senior with an emphasis in invertebrate biology (entomology, invertebrate zoology, and parasitology). The Frederich Science scholarship is available to a student with a declared major in biology, chemistry, computer science, or physics and astronomy who must show academic promise, be a sophomore or above and have financial need.

Jamie Roper, Lake Mills, received the Judith Ann Johnson Memorial Fund, which is used specifically to support UW-Eau Claire student research conducted at Pine Lake.

Kally Worm, Minnetonka, Minn., was awarded the Marcus and Ila Fay Biology Scholarship. This scholarship is used to help a student with definite plans to pursue graduate study in plant taxonomy or other botanical specialties. Worm also received the Jim Fisher Memorial Scholarship, awarded to a non-senior interested in pursuing a career in natural resource management or the environmental field

Emily Gilles, Plum City, received the Carl S. Schildt Memorial Scholarship, given to a senior biology major within the top 10 percent of students who have demonstrated outstanding scholastic achievement.

Sara Helgeson, Independence, was awarded the Birdell Snudden Scholarship. This award is given to a student who has had an internship or research experience at Beaver Creek Reserve, has held a position as a naturalist at a park or summer youth camp, or is a biology education major who is currently enrolled in or has completed the method course for teaching of biology.

Rachel Nauss, Eau Claire, and Jenifer Schwartzhoff, Eau Claire, both received the David Estervig Memorial Award. This award was established for seniors majoring in biochemistry/molecular biology who have demonstrated outstanding scholastic achievement and have a grade point average of at least 3.0 cumulative as well as in biochemistry/molecular biology courses.

Andrew Welch, Superior, received the William E. Nelson Memorial Scholarship, given to a student planning a career in outdoor environment and/or conservation.

Lindsay Bremer, Red Wing, Minn., received the Outstanding Senior Award for a student with a biology/molecular biology major.

Lacey Eveland, Plymouth, Minn., received the Outstanding Senior Award for a student with a biology liberal arts major.

Bethany Olson, who is from Isanti, Minn., but attended high school in St. Francis, Minn., received the Outstanding Senior Award for a student with a biology education major.

Joseph Eaton, Eau Claire, received the Outstanding Senior Award for service to the biology department, university and community.

The following students received the Organismal/Cell/Molecular Outstanding Poster Award at the Student Research Poster Day: Sarah Ivory, Eau Claire, and Dr. Joseph Rohrer, professor of biology, received first place. Michah Daniels, Rock Falls, and Dr. Sasha Showsh, assistant professor of biology, took second place. Frey, Molly Ferron, Verona, and Dr. Daniel Janik, associate professor of biology, received third place.

The following students received the Ecology Outstanding Poster Award at Student Research Poster Day: Emily Hockman, Brandon, and Dr. Tali Lee, associate professor of biology, took first place. Swanson, and Dr. Paula Kleintjes, professor of biology, received second place. Marie Butchert, Eau Claire; Melissa Fraaza, Wittenberg (December 2003 graduate); Lindsay Entringer, Mc Farland; Wendy Parker, Eau Claire; and Kristin Stubbe,Mosinee (December 2003 graduate); and Dr. Evan Weiher, associate professor of biology, received third place.

Dr. Rodolfo Buiser, assistant professor of biology, received the Vic and Eileen Cvancara Outstanding Teaching Award for 2004.



UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: May 18, 2004