University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

UW-Eau Claire Announces
Research Day Award Winners

 MAILED:  May 3, 2004

EAU CLAIRE — The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs with the support of University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Foundation has announced the following awards from the Twelfth Annual Student Research Day, held April 26-27.

Research Day highlights student research accomplishments and the role that faculty and academic staff play as mentors in the scholarly activity process, said Dr. Christopher Lind, assistant vice chancellor and director of the Center of Excellence for Faculty/Student Research Collaboration.

Seniors Stephanie Bertschy, Appleton, Melisa Davis, Exeland, Marie Kilps (graduated Dec. 2003), Arkdale, John Paul Miller (graduated Dec. 2003), Wilson, Lauren Schrader, Eden Prarie, Minn., Patrick Tracy, Neenah, Jeremy Trautlein, Eau Claire, Megan Trunnell, Elk River, Minn., and Kyle Zellner, Wisconsin Rapids, with faculty mentor Patricia Turner, placed first in the arts and humanities category for “Researching the Past for the Public: The CFMIT History Project.”

Juniors Sara Gerondale, Green Bay, and Jennifer Stafslien, Onalaska, with faculty mentor Lois Taft, placed second in the arts and humanities category for “Nursing in WWII: Treating the Wounded and Confronting Unforeseen Foes.”

Seniors Timothy Lefever, La Crosse, Daniel Hehli, Eau Claire, Samantha Cook, Maple Grove, Minn., Lisa Nackers, Wrightstown, Amy Beaudry, Chippewa Falls, and sophomore Sarah Weis, Oconomowoc, with faculty mentor David Jewett, placed first in the behavioral and social sciences category for “Establishing a Pre-Clinical Model of ‘Hunger.’”

Senior Matthew Goethel, Baraboo, and junior Lindsey Prell, Neenah, with faculty mentors J. Brady Foust and Lisa Theo, placed second in the behavioral and social sciences category for “A Socioeconomic and Cultural Transect Along 5th Avenue in New York City.”

Seniors Kimberly Clausen (graduated Dec. 2003), Cudahy, Angela Mueller, Green Bay, Kasey Stephenson, Warrens, Elizabeth Alden-Anderson, St. Mary’s Point, Minn., and John Smethells, Eau Claire, with faculty mentor Kevin Klatt, placed third in the behavioral and social sciences category for “The Effects of Enthusiasm on Responding During Skill Acquisition for Children with Autism.”

Senior Sara Chamberlin, Wisconsin Rapids, and Junior Christopher Conklin, Green Bay, with faculty mentors Douglas Dunham and Marcus McEllistrem, placed first in the natural and physical sciences category for “Investigating Indium Nitride Protective Layers for Gallium Nitride by X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy.”

Senior Elizabeth Ott, Hartland, and sophomores Damon Campbell, Elroy, and Lori Scardino, Eau Claire, with faculty mentors Scott Hartsel and David Lewis, placed second in the natural and physical sciences category for “Got the Confocal Blues? Toward a Robust Series of Organelle-Specific Fluorescence Probes.”

Senior Morgan Herrick, Milwaukee, with faculty mentor Robert Hooper, placed third in the natural and physical sciences category for “Crystal Structure of a Pyroxene, CaFe3+[Fe3+SiO6], with Significant Tetrahedrally Coordinated Fe3+.”

Senior Elizabeth Burgener, Gleason, with faculty mentor Mohamed Elgindi, placed fourth in the natural and physical sciences category for “Optimum Flow in a Membrane Trough.”

Junior Sarah Ivory, Eau Claire, with faculty mentor Joseph Rohrer, placed fifth in the natural and physical sciences category for “Relationships Among Species of North American Plums Inferred from DNA Sequences.”

Senior Jackie Herpel, Cambria, and Rebecca Schumitsch, Green Bay, with faculty mentor Vicki Snider, took first place in the business and professional studies category for “Teacher Beliefs Study.”

Graduate student Heather Hunt, Baxter, Minn., with faculty mentor Allen Keniston, placed first in the graduate entries category for “No Teacher Left Behind: Wisconsin Teachers’ Perceptions of the Effects of Statewide Testing in Instruction and Learning.”

Also, senior James Watkins, Spooner, was awarded the Kell Container Corporation Scholarship, which recognizes outstanding undergraduate research or demonstrated potential for outstanding research accomplishments. His project title was “Geochemical Characterization of Black Hills Magmas: Insights into the Origin of the North American Cordillera,” and Phillip Ihinger was his faculty mentor.


UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: May 3, 2004