University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

UW-Eau Claire Recognizes Outstanding
Research and Creative Projects on Women’s Issues

 MAILED:  April 6, 2004

EAU CLAIRE — In conjunction with Women’s History Month, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students were honored for their work on projects dealing with issues affecting women.

The students were recognized during the 2004 Women’s Studies Awards Celebration, held March 16, for their undergraduate and graduate research and creative projects.

Senior Colene Johnson, a management information systems major from Chippewa Falls, won the Mary Roelli Hilfiker Award for outstanding community volunteer. This award was established to provide opportunities for one or more students to engage in enrichment activities, public service efforts or research projects.

Senior Ryan Elizabeth Olsen, Roberts, received the Mary Katherine and Caroline Kessler Award for her project, “In the Service of Her Country: The History of Florence Sullivan’s Work at YMCA Canteens in London.” Olsen was sponsored by history professor Dr. Robert Gough. Virginia Welle, a December 2003 graduate in broadfield social studies teaching from Prairie Farm, also received the Mary Katherine and Caroline Kessler Award for her project, “Putting Hubby Through: The Students’ Wives Club of the University of Wisc., 1963-1980.” History professor Dr. Jane Pederson was Welle’s faculty sponsor. The Mary Catherine and Caroline Kessler Award is offered to a student for an outstanding research paper or project in history.

The Virgiline and Joseph See Poetry Award went to senior Cindy Hinkley, an English major from Menomonie, for her poem, “The Red Bathrobe.” The Virgiline and Joseph See Poetry Award is offered for an outstanding poetry submission by a student who knows the risk it takes to call oneself a poet. Patti See, student services coordinator for the Academic Skills Center, sponsored the award and Theresa Kemp, associate professor of English, was Hinkley’s faculty sponsor.

Senior Molly Tumanic, a communications major from Brookfield, won the Tillie Olsen Award for Fiction or Creative Nonfiction for her paper, “Crème Brule and Vibrators.” This award goes to a student whose outstanding work explores progressive gender relationships. See sponsored the award and was also Tumanic’s faculty sponsor.

Senior Kathy Kennedy, an English major from Eau Claire, received first place in the undergraduate research paper category of the Helen X. Sampson award for her paper, “Menopause: Diagnosing the Narrative” English professor Dr. Marty Wood was Kennedy’s faculty sponsor. Junior Erin Roesler, an English major from Milwaukee, received second place in the same category for her paper, “Saussure’s Study of Linguistics as it Relates to Sexist Ideals in Hemingway’s In Our Time.” English lecturer Dr. Elizabeth Preston was Roesler’s faculty sponsor. December 2003 history graduate Jessica Jacob, Neenah, took third place for her paper, “A Local Look at Re-Defining the Cult of True Womanhood.” Gough was Burk’s faculty sponsor.

Senior Zar Thao, a social work major from Wausau, received first place in the undergraduate project category of the Helen X. Sampson award for her project, “Zar’s Maternal Time-Line.” Thao’s faculty sponsor was Women’s Studies lecturer Barbara Kernan. Senior psychology major Jessica Henry, Oakdale, Minn., took second place in the same category for her project, “Eco-Feminism: Where Do I Fit In?” See was Henry’s faculty sponsor. Jacki Burk, Altoona, a December 2003 graduate in communications, received third place for her project, “Words that Bind.” Burk’s faculty sponsor was Kernan.

Receiving the Helen X. Sampson award in the graduate category was Kristen Seas, Northfield, Minn., for her project, “Programmed to Please: Marge Piercy’s Critique of the Cyborg Lover in He, She and It.” Kemp was Seas’ faculty sponsor.

Senior Nancy Olson, a social work major from Eau Claire, received the Donna C. Turell award for her project, “Looking Through This Woman’s Eye.” This award is given for an undergraduate or graduate paper or project related to psychology or other human sciences. The award is sponsored by Dr. Susan Turell, associate professor of psychology and coordinator of the Women’s Studies Program. Olson’s faculty sponsor was See.

Senior communications major Dusty Huebner, Watertown, received the Cecelia M. Belter award for the “Vagina Monologues.” This award recognizes outstanding service by an undergraduate student to promote women’s issues to the university through a class project, service learning, program development or student organizing activities. Jodi Thesing-Ritter, assistant director for information management and student program and activities, Housing and Residence Life, was Huebner’s faculty sponsor.

Named for a pioneer advocate for women’s studies and the goals of the women’s movement both on the UW-Eau Claire campus and in the state of Wisconsin, the Helen X. Sampson Awards are funded through the UW-Eau Claire Foundation, as are the Mary Roelli Hilfiker Award, the Donna C. Turell Award and the Cecelia M. Belter Award. The Mary Catherine and Caroline Kessler Award for History, the Virgiline and Joseph See Poetry Award and the Tillie Olsen Award are privately funded. Anyone wishing to contribute to the annual awards can contact the UW-Eau Claire Foundation office at (715) 836-5630, or the Women’s Studies program office at (715) 836-5717.


UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: April 6, 2004