University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

Organizations, Individuals Recognized at
Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony

 MAILED:  March 23, 2004

EAU CLAIRE — Five student organizations, 10 student organization advisers and 208 individual nominees were recognized at the 2004 Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire on Feb. 19.

The accomplishments of student leaders, organizations and organization advisers are celebrated at the annual campuswide program. The ceremony began with remarks by Dr. Kimberly Barrett, associate vice chancellor for student development and diversity. Susan Tietz, chief executive officer of McDonough Manufacturing, addressed the assembled faculty, staff, students, friends and family with “Thoughts on Leadership.”

Awards recognizing student organizations and advisers that have demonstrated distinguished service to campus and community, creative programming and involvement in the university were the first presented by William Hutchinson, president of the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association.

The Association of Student Social Workers and Beta Upsilon Sigma received the two Student Organization Awards.

Social work students join the Association of Student Social Workers to become part of an organization that supports and facilitates their future career goals. The organization provides financial and volunteer support to many people and agencies in the community, including Catholic Charities, Special Olympics and the Ecumenical Religious Center. In the fall of 2003 the organization donated four boxes of textbooks to the social work program at Rhodes University in South Africa.

Consisting of 150 students, Beta Upsilon Sigma promotes activities on campus that further the members’ education in the business field and enriches the understanding of business outside the classroom. Beta Upsilon Sigma is committed to involvement in the community, participating in walking dogs at the humane association shelter, working on the Adopt-a-Highway program and tutoring at South Middle School.

The Student Organization Advisor Award was presented to Jodi Thesing-Ritter, assistant director of housing and residence life. She advises the Residence Hall Activities Board, United Hall Council and National Residence Hall Honorary. As the result of her professional experience, her input and ideas are valued greatly by the many members of the student organizations she advises. She is always one of the first people at an event and the last to leave, showing her true dedication to the students of UW-Eau Claire.

“Jodi Thesing-Ritter demonstrated her persistence in always seeing things through to the end,” wrote her nominator. “The most amazing aspect about Jodi as an adviser [is that] she has been there for every single committee member, all 11 halls and every event.”

Four of the 208 outstanding student leaders who were nominated by faculty, staff and students received the Student Leadership Awards.

Steven Davis is a sophomore mass communication and theatre major from West Allis. As programming director for the University Activities Commission of the Student Senate, he has had the opportunity to work with peers and members of the administration in offering a variety of social, educational and cultural programs to the university community. In addition, as a Campus Ambassador, he gives tours to prospective students, participates on student panels, phones prospective students and serves as a role model.

Lisa Huftel of Hudson is a junior majoring in political science and public relations. An established leader, she has dedicated most of her time at UW-Eau Claire to the Student Senate. She has held posts as director of the Student Life and Diversity Commission, off-campus senator and a member of the University Centers and Programs Advisory Board. She took a prominent role in organizing such events as the September 11 vigil, the fourth and fifth Human Rights Awareness Conferences and Acceptance Day. She holds membership on six other student organizations, including Amnesty International and Society of Politics.

Amy Nelson, a sophomore nursing major from Cumberland, is vice president of the Veterans Club and an Army Reserves member in psychological operations. During her deployment to Iraq in March 2003, she assumed many leadership roles including organizing group activities to keep morale and physical fitness at high levels. She took leadership positions as the highest ranking soldier in a company of soldiers. Her contributions to the campus were seen in her organization of the Veterans Day program held last fall, for which she engaged a speaker and color guard and designed promotion.

Jacquelyn Petroni is a senior from Fish Creek, double-majoring in music therapy and biology. She is a member of Omicron Delta Kappa, Mortar Board, American Music Therapy Association, and a Freshman Year Experience Mentor. She has presented papers at national and state music therapy conferences. Her most significant leadership experience has been serving as an orientation assistant, answering questions about the community and campus life and helping new students register for classes.

The Student Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony is sponsored annually by the UW-Eau Claire Alumni Association, the Offices of the Chancellor and Provost, the Office of Student Development and Diversity, University Centers and Programs, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Foundation and the UW-Eau Claire Student Senate.


UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: March 23, 2004