University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

UW-Eau Claire School of Nursing
Announces Scholarship Recipients

 MAILED:  July 2, 2003

EAU CLAIRE - The School of Nursing at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire recently announced scholarship recipients for the 2003-04 academic year.

The Joyce M. Brown Nursing Scholarship was awarded to Kellie Barth, a junior from Pewaukee.

The Loretta Donnellan Nursing Scholarship was awarded to Sarah R. Peterson, a junior from Mosinee. Peterson also received a John M. Kildahl Family Scholarship, along with Nicole Martiny, a senior from Campbellsport, and Lindsay C. Olsen, a senior from Madison.

Friends of Luther Nursing Scholarships went to Amy E. Wells, a sophomore from Chippewa Falls; Erin Shane, a senior from Colfax; Kelly Gruber, a sophomore from Mondovi; and Sara Anderson, a senior from Black River Falls.

Gruber also received aWisconsin Rural Opportunities Foundation Inc. Scholarship, along with Emily Casper, a junior from Chilton; Amy Neumann, a senior from Somerset; Joel Hilson, a junior from Colfax; and Debbra Spexet, a graduate student from Sarona.

Anderson also received a Partners with St. Joseph Hospital Scholarship, along with Misty Larae Leech, a sophomore from Marshfield; Mandy Paulson, a junior from Owen; Brandi Sparks-Luther, a junior from Abbottsford and Spencer; Melissa Wendell, a graduate student from Marshfield; and Gina Fellenz, a sophomore from Loyal.

Fellenz also received the The Robert and Judith Mickelson Scholarship.

Wendell also received the Major John Toivo Kallio Memorial Scholarship. The recipient must be a graduate student with an emphasis in adult or family health nursing and a research or practice interest in AIDS or other chronic illnesses.

Sparks-Luther also received a Marshfield Clinic Scholarship, along with Amy Greene, a senior from Pittsville, and Cheryl Hamm, a sophomore from Washburn. Greene also received the Jeffrey K. Walker Humanitarian Nursing Scholarship. Selection for this award is based on community service and involvement, which takes precedence over academic achievement.

The Virginia Ione Kimpton Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Rachel Klitzke, a senior from Chippewa Falls. Klitzke also received the Vera Nelson Scholarship.

Dr. Harold and Helena Ray Huston Nursing Scholarships went to Heidi Lynne Framsted, a junior from Amery; and Barbara Zobitz, a senior from Stevens Point.

Rodaynah Obaid Nursing Scholarships were awarded to Sarah Gieschen, a junior from Wausau; Laura Ludwig, a junior from Waite Park, Minn.; and Kelly Blaskey, a junior from Custer. Recipients must be nursing students who exhibit high academic achievement and records of service and caring. Blaskey also received the Undergraduate Excellence in Writing Award.

The Lila Shelley Nursing Scholarship was awarded to Kristine Terry, a senior from Eau Claire. The recipient must be a nontraditional student admitted to the nursing program and in good academic standing with the School of Nursing and the university.

Tri-County Medical Alliance Scholarships were awarded to Kristi Haynes, a junior from Chippewa Falls, and Corrie Perkl, a senior from Neillsville. Recipients must be students from the Eau Claire, Dunn or Pepin County areas.

The Berniece Wagner Nursing Scholarship was awarded to Jamie Lahti, a senior from Cedarburg.

The Frances Sundet Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Laura Stacie, a junior from De Pere.

John and Hilde Bacharach Scholarships were awarded to Katie Eckdahl, a senior from Maple Plain, Minn., and Melyssa Heintz, a senior from Chippewa Falls. Nursing recipients of this award must have an emphasis on community health or public health.

The Guy and Lauren Brubaker Scholarship was awarded to Cassandra Garness, a sophomore from New Richmond.

The Charles M. and Isabel Ihle Medical Sciences Scholarship was awarded to Sheryl Sebastian, a junior from Marshfield.

Along with the student scholarships, four faculty awards were presented.

The Rita Kisting Sparks Service Award was presented to Karen Maddox, associate professor, family health nursing.

The Ihle Family Award for Caring was presented to Debra Jansen, associate professor, adult health nursing.

The Patricia M. Ostmoe Award for Excellence in Clinical Instruction was presented to Nola Schmidt, associate professor, family health nursing.

The Suzanne Van Ort Award for Faculty Creativity and Scholarliness was presented to Lois Taft, associate professor, nursing systems.

UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: July 2, 2003