University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

Communication and Journalism Students
Receive Scholarships at UW-Eau Claire

 MAILED:  May 12, 2003

EAU CLAIRE - Seventeen University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire students were awarded scholarships during the Communication and Journalism Convocation May 9.

Kelly McBride, St. Louis Park, Minn., received the $1,400 Ann Devroy Fellowship, which includes a residency at The Washington Post and an internship at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. McBride also received a $1,250 Arthur L. Murray Scholarship and a $500 WNA Foundation A. David Gordon Reporter Scholarship.

Jill Steinke, Nekoosa, was awarded a $1,250 Arthur L. Murray Scholarship, a $1,000 WNA Foundation Henry Lippold Editor Scholarship and a $200 Cindy Schott Humanitarian Award.

Anna Kurth, Minocqua, received a $750 Lee and Esther Hench Memorial Scholarship, a $500 Marshall B. Atkinson Journalism Scholarship and a $500 WNA Foundation Jerry Conner Freelance Reporter Scholarship.

Andrew Dowd, Verona, received a $500 William Randolph Hearst Scholarship, a $350 Journalism Recognition Scholarship and a $200 Conner Spectator Excellence and Promise Award Scholarship.

Matthew Karpinko, Eden Prairie, Minn., was awarded a $1,000 WNA Foundation Wallace Weil Management Scholarship.

Emmalee Rathmann, Zumbrota, Minn., received a $1,000 WNA Foundation Wil Pautz Photo/Graphics Scholarship.

Linnae Riesen, Muskego was awarded a $1,000 Sally A. Webb Organizational Communication Tuition Scholarship.

Wendy Neuberger, Menomonee Falls, was awarded a $600 Leslie D. Polk Scholarship.

Matthew Beasley, Duluth, Minn., was awarded a $500 Sally A. Webb Study Abroad Tuition Scholarship.

Su Theng Goh, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, received a $500 Sally A. Webb International Student Tuition Scholarship.

Chrisna Kirichkow, Beloit, was awarded a $500 Donald L. & Geraldine T. Wolfarth Scholarship.

Erin Kosinski, Franklin, received a $500 WNA Foundation Elwood Karwand Advertising Scholarship.

Sara Schultz, Kewaunee, was awarded a $500 WNA Foundation Les Polk Copy Editor Scholarship.

Mike Arndorfer, Eau Claire, received a $350 James E. Fields Journalism Scholarship.

Shelley Berg, Eau Claire, received a $100 Kevin J. Schieffer Scholarship.

Tina Kollmansberger, Chili, received a $100 Exellence in Communication Scholarship.

Amanda K. Olson, Durand, was awarded a $100 Joseph Giordano Memorial Scholarship.

Lisa A. Klinkner, Appleton, was chosen as the Society of Professional Journalists Outstanding Graduate for 2003.


UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: May 12, 2003