University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Media Memo
News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

UW-Eau Claire Honors Area Teachers

 MAILED:  May 7, 2003

UW-Eau Claire's School of Education will honor two area teachers this week for their efforts to help educate student teachers.

Dave Mueller, an instrumental teacher at Eleva-Strum Middle/High School, and Karen Bejin, a 6th grade teacher at DeLong Middle School in Eau Claire, will receive the first Rockwell Award for Outstanding Cooperating Educators during the School of Education's Recognition Event. The event will run from 4-5:30 p.m. Thursday, May 8, in the Dulany Inn of Davies Center at UW-Eau Claire.

Roland and Ruth Rockwell of Madison established the fund to honor excellence by cooperating teachers. Roland Rockwell is a former superintendent for the Barron Area School District.

Thirty-one education students will receive scholarships from the UW-Eau Claire Foundation during Thursday's event. In addition, the School of Education will present Kelly Prusak with its Outstanding Senior Award. Prusak is an elementary education major from Duluth, Minn.

The media is welcome to attend.

For more information, contact the School of Education at (715) 836-3671.

UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: December 28, 2004