This browser does not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's intended design. May we suggest that you upgrade your browser?

University Honors Council


One faculty member from each undergraduate College serves on the University Honors Council which assists in directing the University Honors Program. Additionally, the president and secretary of the student organization affiliated with the University Honors Program sit on the council as well as the Director of the Honors Program.

The 2012-13 members of the University Honors Council are:

Faculty Members:

  • Dr. Erik Hendrickson, Department of Physics (College of Arts & Sciences)
  • Dr. Rita Sperstad, Department of Nursing (College of Nursing & Health Sciences)
  • Ingrid Ulstad, M.B.A., CPA; Department of Accounting and Finance (College of Business)
  • Dr. Vicki Samelson, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders (College of Education and Human Sciences)

Student Members:

  • Maile Olson, Honors LLC representative
  • Mariah; Secretary, Honors Helping Honors student organization
  • Cheyenne Wolfe; President, Honors Helping Honors student organization

Ex-Officio Members:

  • Dr. Jefford Vahlbusch, Director, University Honors Program
  • Dr. Ivy Bohnlein, Assistant Director for Advising & Student Programs, University Honors Program
  • Dr.Ruth Cronje, Faculty Fellow, University Honors Program

Responsibilities of University Honors Council

  • Receive regular reports from Director on program status.
  • Serve as liaison between University Honors Program and colleges, departments, faculty, and students.
  • Review new/existing components and requirements and make reports and recommendations.
  • Approve honors colloquia and honors designations for course programs.
  • Admit students to University Honors Program.
  • Assist in preparation of periodic audits/reviews of the University Honors Program.