This browser does not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's intended design. May we suggest that you upgrade your browser?

Windows XP

Working with Permissions

As work progresses, it may be appropriate to provide group access to a file. Due to student turnover, it is recommended that permissions be set for groups rather than individuals.

NOTE: The majority of these instructions refer to MY COMPUTERMy computeron the Desktop. Instead of the text MY COMPUTER, you may see your username followed by the computer name.

This document covers the following:

return to topViewing and Modifying Members of a Group

Before granting access to a group or when modifying permissions, you may want to view the group. Depending on the type of group, there are a couple possible ways to identify the group members:

return to topViewing Permissions

At any time, you can view or verify the permissions set for a file or folder. This is helpful if you want to review the permissions before you make any changes. Viewing permissions allows you to see who has access and what each user's permissions are.

  1. Access the Properties dialog box

  2. Select the Security tab
    The top portion of the dialog box lists the users and/or groups that have access to the file or folder.

  3. To view each user's permissions, from the Group or user names section, click on a user 
    The user's permissions are displayed in Permissions section.

return to topModifying Permissions

Once you have granted access to an individual or a group of users, you will need to set the level of access these individuals will have to the file or folder. In reality you are simply modifying the default permissions for the user(s). In many cases the default permissions will give the new user(s) too much access (e.g., the ability to delete files) or not enough. It is a simple process to modify the permissions for a user.

  1. Access the Properties dialog box

  2. Select the Security tab

  3. In the Group or user names list, select the user or group
    The user's current permissions display in the Permissions section.

  4. Under Permissions, use the checkboxes to select the appropriate permissions

  5. Click OK
    The user or group file permissions are modified.

return to topRemoving Permissions

At times, it may be appropriate to remove all permissions for a user or group (e.g., at the end of the semester). Removing permissions is a simple task.

You may notice a group called Everyone in the list of users that have access. You may remove this group with no ill effects and doing so is recommended to increase the security of your folder and files. If the Everyone group is not removed or if the group's permissions are not changed, everyone in the UW-Eau Claire domain will be able to access and read the contents of your folder.

  1. Access the Properties dialog box

  2. Select the Security tab
    NOTE: The top part of the dialog box lists which users or groups have access to the file or folder; the bottom part shows what permissions the user(s) have.

  3. In the Group or user names section, select the user you wish to remove all permissions for
    WARNING: Be careful in your selection. Do not remove yourself from the list, as you will be barred from accessing the folder and you will not be able to change the permissions back yourself. Contact the LTS Help Desk if you have problems.

  4. Click REMOVE
    The user or group disappears from the list in the Group or user names section.

  5. Click OK

Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.