This browser does not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's intended design. May we suggest that you upgrade your browser?

Microsoft Entourage 2008

Emptying the Deleted Items Folder

This document explains options for emptying the Deleted Items folder. The Deleted Items folder should be emptied on regular basis to help preserve your account quota and to keep your account organized. For more information about account quotas, refer to Account Quotas. There are several options available in Entourage for deleting items; the best option for you will depend on your personal working style.

return to topEmptying Deleted Items with a Schedule

Entourage allows you to set up a schedule to empty your Deleted Items folder. In this example, instructions on how to empty the Deleted Items folder upon exit will be shown. The mail that will be deleted upon exit will be all mail in the Deleted Items folder that is older than 5 days old.

  1. From the Tools menu, select Schedules...
    The Schedules dialog box appears.
    Schedules dialog box

  2. Verify that Empty Deleted Items Folder is selected
    NOTE: A checkmark appears next to the option when it is selected.

  3. Double click EMPTY DELETED ITEMS FOLDER
    The Edit Schedule dialog box appears.
    Edit Schedule dialog box

  4. From the When pull-down menu, select the desired option
    EXAMPLE: Select On Quit

  5. In the Action section from the pull-down menu, select the desired options
    EXAMPLE:
    1. From the Action pull-down list, select Delete Mail
    2. From the from pull-down list, select Deleted Items
    3. In the older than text box, type 5

  6. Click OK

return to topEmptying Deleted Items upon Demand

If you are using Entourage throughout the day to send and receive messages or update your calendar you may want to clean up your space as you work.

Emptying Deleted Items: All

  1. From the Navigation pane, click MAILMail button

  2. In the Folders list, press [control] and click DELETED ITEMS » select Empty Deleted Items
    A confirmation dialog box appears.

  3. Click EMPTY

Emptying Deleted Items: Selected Items

  1. From the Navigation pane, select MAILMail button

  2. From the Folders list, click DELETED ITEMS
    The contents of the Deleted Items folder appear.

  3. To selecting a group of contiguous messages
    1. Select the first message to be deleted
    2. Press and hold down the [shift] key
    3. Select the last message to be deleted
    OR
    To select a group of non-contiguous messages
    1. Select the first message to de deleted
    2. Press and hold down the [Command key] key
    3. Select the next item
    4. Repeat steps b and c until all messages to be deleted are selected

  4. Click DELETEDelete button

Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.