This browser does not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's intended design. May we suggest that you upgrade your browser?

Microsoft Entourage 2008

Customizing Email Settings

Entourage allows you to change default settings and customize certain email features to better suit your specific needs. This document explains how to customize your email settings.

return to topNew Mail Notification

When new mail arrives, you have the option of a notification dialog box alerting you of the new message. You can conveniently open your new message directly from the notification dialog box when it appears. However, as some viruses are spread by the opening of email messages, you must be attentive of the messages you open. You can adjust your settings to turn this option on or off.

  1. From the Entourage menu, select Preferences...
    The Preferences dialog box appears.
    Preferences dialog box

  2. From the Categories list, in the General Preferences section, select Notification
    The Preferences dialog box refreshes to display the Notification options.
    Notification options

  3. Under the Notification section, select Display an alert on my desktop
    NOTE: The item is selected if a checkmark appears before it.

  4. To have the dialog box display the message subject, select Display Message Subject only
    To have the dialog box display the message subject and a preview, select Display Message Subject and Preview

  5. Click OK

return to topUsing the Preview Pane

Entourage allows you to split your message screen between your Inbox and a preview of a full message in the Preview Pane. Messages viewed in the Preview Pane display the same information as messages opened in their own windows.

NOTE: You can opt to mark messages as read once they have been viewed in the Preview Pane.

Showing/Hiding the Preview Pane

  1. To show a preview to the right of your Inbox, from the View menu, select Preview Pane » On Right
    To show a preview below your Inbox, from the View menu, select Preview Pane » Below List
    To show no preview, from the View menu, select Preview Pane » None
    NOTE: The option is selected when a checkmark appears before the menu item.

Marking Messages as Read

  1. From the Entourage menu, select Preferences...
    The Preferences dialog box appears.
    Preferences dialog box

  2. From the Categories list, in the Mail & News Preferences section, select Read
    Read options

  3. Under the Messages section, select Mark messages as read when displayed in the Preview pane
    NOTE: The option is selected when a checkmark appears in the box.

  4. OPTIONAL: To mark a message as read after a certain amount of time
    1. Select Mark message as read after displaying for
    2. Adjust the number of seconds to wait by using the up and down arrows
      OR
      In the text box, type the desired number of seconds

  5. Click OK

return to topEmptying the Deleted Items Folder

Depending on your email settings, you may be keeping messages that you are not aware of. After a message is deleted from the Inbox, it is not totally removed; rather, the message is sent to the Deleted Items folder. You can adjust your settings to allow Entourage to automatically empty the Deleted Items folder at various times.

Emptying Deleted Items Folder Options

Manually
The user must delete the items in the Deleted Items folder manually.

At Startup
Every time a user starts Entourage, the items in the Deleted Items folder will be deleted automatically.

On Quit
When a user exits Entourage, the items in the Deleted Items folder will be deleted automatically.

Timed Schedule
This option allows users to set a specific date and time that Entourage will automatically delete items in the Deleted Items folder.

Repeating Schedule
This option deletes items in the Deleted Items folder continually each day (e.g., every 20 minutes).

Recurring
This option allows users to set a recurring time (e.g., during a day, week, month, or year) to delete the items in the Deleted Items folder

Emptying the Deleted Items Folder On Quit

The steps below show how to empty the Deleted Items folder using the On Quit option. For more information about emptying your Deleted Items folder, refer to Emptying the Deleted Items Folder.

  1. From the Tools menu, select Run Schedule » Edit Schedules
    The Schedules dialog box appears.
    Schedules dialog box

  2. Double click EMPTY DELETED ITEMS FOLDER
    The Edit Schedule dialog box appears.
    Edit Schedule dialog box

  3. In the When section, from the pull-down list, select the desired option
    EXAMPLE: Select On Quit

  4. OPTIONAL: In the Action section, make any desired selections or changes
    NOTE: To add additional options to the Action section, click ADD ACTIONAdd Action button.

  5. When you have finished, click OK

  6. Close the Schedules dialog box

return to topKeeping Copies of Sent Messages

Since many issues are handled through email, it may be important to keep a copy of all the messages you send. Sent emails can be stored in the Sent Items folder and then deleted when no longer relevant.

  1. From the Entourage menu, select Preferences...
    The Preferences dialog box appears.
    Preferences dialog box

  2. From the Categories list, in the Mail & News Preferences section, select Compose
    Compose options

  3. In the General section, select Save copies of sent messages in the Sent Items folder
    NOTE: The option is selected when a checkmark appears in the box next to it.

  4. Click OK

return to topCustomizing the Send & Receive All Schedule

Entourage provides a Send and Receive All function, which automatically sends any messages that you have placed in the Outbox and downloads any messages that have been sent to you. This function is scheduled to run at set intervals. If you would prefer to change the interval or turn off the Send and Receive All function, you will need to change the schedule.

  1. From the Tools menu, select Run Schedule » Edit Schedules
    The Schedules dialog box appears.
    Schedules dialog box

  2. From the Schedules window, double click SEND & RECEIVE ALL
    The Edit Schedule dialog box appears.
    Edit Schedule dialog box

  3. In the When section, in the Every text box, type the desired amount of time

  4. From the pull-down menu, select the desired unit of time

  5. Click OK

  6. Close the Schedules dialog box
    The time interval is changed.

Turning off Send & Receive All

If you would prefer to directly control when you send and receive messages, instead of allowing Entourage to automatically do so, you may choose to turn off the Send and Receive All function. If this function is turned off, you will need to manually download and send all emails by using the Send & Receive All command in the Tools menu.

  1. From the Tools menu, select Schedules
    The Schedules dialog box appears.
    Schedules dialog box

  2. From the Schedules window, in the Enabled column, deselect Send & Receive All
    HINT: The option is deselected when no check mark appears.

  3. Close the Schedules dialog box
    The change is applied.

Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.