This browser does not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's intended design. May we suggest that you upgrade your browser?

Microsoft Outlook 2007

Emptying the Deleted Items Folder

To help preserve your Outlook Exchange account quota and to keep organized, you should empty your Deleted Items folder on a regular basis. For more information, refer to Managing Your Account Quota. There are two options within Outlook 2007 for deleting items; the best option for you depends on your personal working style. If you wish to view a message before deleting (to verify that you really want to delete it), simply double click the item in the Deleted Items folder to open it or use the Reading Pane. Outlook also allows you to recover items if they were recently emptied from the Deleted Items folder.

return to topEmptying Deleted Items When Exiting Outlook

RECOMMENDED: Emptying the Deleted Items folder every time you exit Outlook 2007 is a good maintenance practice to adopt. The process is simple and performing it can save you time.

  1. From the Tools menu, select Options...
    The Options dialog box appears.

  2. Select the Other tab

  3. In the General section, select Empty the Deleted Items folder upon exiting
    The option is selected if a checkmark appears in the box.General section of the Other Options tab

  4. OPTIONAL: To suppress the warning that typically appears before the Deleted Items folder is emptied:
    1. Click ADVANCED OPTIONS...
      The Advanced Options dialog box appears.
    2. In the General settings section, deselect Warn before permanently deleting times
      The option is deselected if there is no checkmark in the box.
      Advanced options
    3. Click OK
      Outlook 2007 will no longer require confirmation before emptying the Deleted Items folder.

  5. Click OK
    The Deleted Items folder will now be emptied upon every exit.

return to topEmptying Deleted Items upon Demand

You may also wish to empty the Deleted Items folder periodically while using Outlook 2007. If you are using Outlook throughout the day to send and receive messages or update your calendar, it would be a good idea to clean up your space from time to time.

  1. From the Tools menu, select Empty "Deleted Items" FolderEmpty Deleted Items folder icon

  2. If a confirmation dialog box appears, click YES
    The Deleted Items folder is now empty.

return to topRecovering Permanently Deleted Items

Outlook gives you the ability to recover items that you have recently permanently deleted from the Deleted Items folder. This should be done as soon as possible to ensure that they are still recoverable. Recovered items are placed back into the Deleted Items folder.

  1. From the Folder List, select Deleted Items

  2. From the Tools menu, select Recover Deleted Items...Recover deleted items icon
    The Recover Deleted Items dialog box appears.
    Recover Deleted Items dialog box

  3. Select the item which you want to recover
    OR
    To select multiple items, press and hold [Ctrl] while clicking each item
    OR
    Click SELECT ALLSelect All button

  4. To recover the selected items, click RECOVER SELECTED ITEMSRecover Selected Items button
    OR
    To purge the selected items permanently,
    1. Click PURGE SELECTED ITEMSPurge Selected Items button
      A confirmation dialog box appears.
    2. Click OK

Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.