This browser does not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's intended design. May we suggest that you upgrade your browser?

Desire2Learn 9.0

Chat Options

Chats enable students and instructors to interact with each other in real time. After you have created a chat, you may want to modify its name, description, or participants. This document explains how to accomplish these tasks as well as deleting and archiving chats. For more information about chats in Desire2Learn, refer to Working with Chats.

return to topModifying Chats

Once chats are created, you can change the chat name and description, or add/remove members.

Modifying Chats: Changing the Chat Name and Description

  1. From the Course Home page, on the Navigation bar, click CHAT
    The Chat List pane appears.

  2. For the desired chat, click EDITEdit Chat button
    The Chat Properties pane appears.

  3. To change the chat title, in the Chat Title text box, type the new name

  4. To change the chat description, in the Description text box, type in the desired changes

  5. Click SAVE
    The chat information is updated.

Modifying Chats: Removing Members from Chats

This option is available only for personal chats and can be done only by the creator of the chat. By definition, general chats are open to all class members.

  1. From the Course Home page, on the Navigation bar, click CHAT
    The Chat List dialog box appears.

  2. For the desired chat, click MEMBERSView Members button
    The Chat Members pane appears.

  3. In the Members section, select the user(s) you wish to remove from the chat
    Users are selected if a checkmark appears before their usernames.

  4. Click DELETE
    A confirmation dialog box appears.

  5. Click DELETE
    The selected members are removed.

Modifying Chats: Adding Members to Chats

This option is available only for personal chats and can be done only by the creator of the chat. By definition, general chats are open to all class members.

  1. From the Course Home page, on the Navigation bar, click CHAT
    The Chat List pane appears.

  2. For the desired chat, click VIEW MEMBERSView Members button
    The Chat Members pane appears.

  3. Click ADD MEMBERS
    The Add Members dialog box appears.
    Add Members dialog box

  4. Select the desired users
    NOTE: A user is selected if a checkmark appears before their username.

  5. Click ADD
    The user(s) are added.

return to topWorking with Chat Archives

Desire2Learn automatically archives chat sessions. Archived chats are saved sessions that are viewable for future reference or grading purposes. Both instructors and students can view archived chats, but only the instructor can edit them. In addition, instructors can govern which chat archives are available for students to view by making them hidden.

Working with Chat Archives: Viewing Archived Chats

Desire2Learn automatically archives chat sessions. Once all members leave a chat, the session is considered completed and the chat is saved.

  1. From the Course Home page, on the Navigation bar, click CHAT
    The Chat List pane appears.

  2. For the desired chat, click VIEW SESSIONSView Sessions button
    The Chat Sessions pane appears.

  3. Click the desired chat session
    The screen refreshes to display session information and content.

  4. When finished, click GO BACK

return to topDeleting Chats

In the event that a chat becomes obsolete, you have the ability to delete it. This option is available only to the creator of the chat.

WARNING: Deleting a chat also removes any archives associated with the chat.

  1. From the Course Home page, on the Navigation bar, click CHAT
    The Chat List pane appears.

  2. Select the desired chat
    NOTE: A chat is selected when a checkmark appears to the left.

  3. Click DELETE THE SELECTED CHATSDelete Chat button
    A confirmation dialog box appears.

  4. Click DELETE
    The chat is deleted.

Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.