Ethnic Geography | AAG

Vancouver, Canada

Granada, Nicaragua

New York, New York

San Juan, Puerto Rico

Cuzco, Peru

EGSG Student Paper Competition Award

The Ethnic Geography Specialty Group (EGSG)  is pleased to sponsor its annual Student Paper Competition. Students who have completed a research paper to present at the AAG are eligible to submit their research paper for adjudication in this competition. The EGSG Student Paper Committee will evaluate all submissions based on written clarity, methodological rigor, and overall contribution to ethnic geography scholarship. The winner will receive a $250 prize, a certificate, a ticket to the AAG Award Luncheon and a formal recognition at the banquet, and in the EGSG Newsletter.

EGSG Student Paper Competition Guidelines

    Papers must be based on original research completed as an undergraduate or graduate student and must adhere to following:

  • 1. To be considered for the award, students must present their research at the 2016 Annual Meeting of the AAG. Participants are strongly encourage to attend the EGSG business meeting.
  • 2. The topic must be on some aspect of Ethnic Geography.
  • 3. The text portion should be double-spaced and not exceed the twenty pages and the total lenght should not exceed thirty pages.
  • 4. Papers co-authored with faculty will not be considered for student award. However, papers by multiple students author are acceptable.
  • 5. The paper must be sent to Fenda Akiwumi (Student Paper Award Committee Chair) by e-mail. If there are essential graphics which cannot be sent by e-mail, the author may send the graphic by mail.
  • 6. The paper must be received no later than TBA.
  • 7. The paper will be judge by the committee members on: written clarity, methodological soundness, contribution to scholarship in ethnic geography, and overall effectiveness. The paper presentation at the conference will not be considered in the scoring.

For further information you might contact Fenda Akiwumi (Student Paper Award Committee Chair) by e-mail Student Paper Competition Award Committee: Reuben Allen, Ball State University  (2015-2017); Michael Webb, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (2015-2017) and; Fenda Akiwumi University of South Florida (2014-2016).

EGSG Student Paper Competition Award Recipients

Year Recipient Institution
2015 Shaolu Yu University of Connecticut
2014 Scott Basford University of Tennessee
2012 Alexandra Giancarlo Louisiana State University
2011 Yang Yang Humboldt State University
2010 Melissa Kelly University of Uppsala
2008 Alan Marcus University of Massachusetts, Amherst
2007 Brian Dunbar California State University, Northridge
2005 Katherine Nashleanas University of Nebraska, Lincoln
2004 Qingfang Wang University of Georgia
2002 Susan Hume University of Oregon
2001 Ranu Basu University of Toronto
2000 Emily Skop Arizona State University