The Great Northwoods Sales Warm-Up

Sixth annual UW-Eau Claire Great Northwoods Sales Warm-Up to be held Nov. 8-10

Marketing students from fifteen universities located in ten states will gather at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire for the sixth annual Great Northwoods Sales Warm-Up, November 8-10, 2012. The collegiate sales competition is hosted by the UW-Eau Claire Department of Management and Marketing.

Schools participating at the UW-Eau Claire event include Aurora University, Ball State University, Baylor University, Bowling Green State University, Illinois State University, Kansas State University, North Dakota State University, Tuskegee University, University of Louisville, University of Northern Iowa, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, University of Wisconsin-Parkside, University of Wisconsin-Stout, and Viterbo University.

All contestants at The Warm-Up will deliver two 20-minute sales presentations—one for a Hormel product, the other for a SuperValu product—to an individual buyer. Sales calls will be evaluated by a panel of sales professionals who will view presentations via cablecast at a remote location. After each presentation, students will meet one-on-one with a sales professional who judged their performance.

The student selected as the best overall sales person will receive a $1,500 cash award and a trophy. The individual will also receive a custom suit valued at $1,000 from Tom James.

The Warm-Up’s first runner-up and second runner-up will receive $1,000 and $750 respectively. The highest scoring individual from each university will receive $150.

Other events planned for The Warm-Up include the Thursday night Opener reception, Friday Career Fair (open to all UW-Eau Claire business students), the Liberty Mutual Friday Fun Night dinner and Enterprise Rent-A-Car Comedy Club featuring comedian C. Willi Myles, Saturday morning professional development workshops, and the Hormel Foods and SuperValu Celebration Banquet Saturday night.

Hormel Foods and SuperValu are Platinum/Major sponsors of the Great Northwoods Sales Warm-up. Silver Sponsors are Enterprise Rent-A-Car, GraybaR, Huebsch Services, Inland Label, Larson Companies, Liberty Mutual, Northwestern Mutual – The Bohannon Group, Sherwin-Williams, TEKsystems, Thomson Reuters, Tom James, and Verizon. Other sponsors and donors include ADP-Automatic Data Processing, Robert Erffmeyer & Gretchen Hutterli, Jack Link’s, KI, Inc., M3 Insurance, McAfee, Michael K. Schulze, Uline and US Foods.

For more information and a complete schedule of events taking place in both Schneider Hall and Davies Center, visit or contact Dr. Bob Erffmeyer, director, UW-Eau Claire Great Northwoods Sales Warm-Up, at (715) 836-6019 or

2012 Warm-Up Schools

Aurora University, Aurora, IL
Shawn Green, faculty coach
• Caity Brakeman
• Derek Cooper
• Martin Schubert
• Alex Villa

Ball State University, Muncie, IN
Michele Bartlett, faculty coach
• Zachary Canterbury
• Tyler Rosberg
• Katie Shelton

Baylor University, Waco, TX
Andrea Dixon, faculty coach
• Bryan Baker
• Colby Mann
• Oscar Velasquez

Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH
Christine Seiler, faculty coach
• Nicholas D’Aurelio
• Alecia Hitchman
• Jacob West

Illinois State University, Normal, IL
Jill Attaway, faculty coach
• Katie Ford
• Michael Gorey
• Meghan Kelly

Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS
Dawn Deeter-Schmelz, faculty coach
• Ashlee Hampton
• Travis Heideman
• Megan Kirtland

North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND
Michael Krush, faculty coach
• Shane Ward
• Cameron Wedde

Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AL
Faye Jackson, faculty coach
• Marissa Bell
• Jazmyn Hawkins
• Khalia Hunter
• Amber Pratcher

University of Louisville, Louisville, KY
Buddy LaForge, faculty coach
• Lauren Baldridge
• April Gibson
• Andrew Sieg

University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA
Marty Hansen, faculty coach
• Brendon Brauer
• Kyle Kappmeyer
• Skylar Lind
• Bridget Schmitt

University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire, Eau Claire, WI
Jerry Kollross, faculty coach
• Melissa Erickson
• Lauren Gault
• Samuel Mimier
• Cameron Walther

University of Wisconsin–La Crosse, La Crosse, WI
Susan Whitewater, faculty coach
• Brian Chin
• Amber Fochs
• Hannah Olevson
• Andy Truax

University of Wisconsin–Parkside, Kenosha, WI
Jim McPhaul, faculty coach
Bob Stoebe, faculty coach
• Michael Anderson
• Taylor Newton

University of Wisconsin–Stout, Menomonie, WI
Jessica Gardner, faculty coach
Logan Woller, assistant coach
• Cody Capra
• Karissa Gustafson
• Brittany Rinker
• William Sawyer

Viterbo University, La Crosse, WI
Mike Behan, faculty coach
• Christopher Banovich
• Tony Becker

News around Schneider
Excellence. Our Measure, Our Motto, Our Goal.

UW-Eau Claire College of Business
Schneider Hall 110 | Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004 | 715.836.5509 | FAX: 715.836.4014 |

Information on these Web pages is subject to change without notice.
Content or Accessibility Questions: | An EEO/AA Institution
Copyright 1995-2012 UW-Eau Claire and the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

UW-Eau Claire Home