Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
News & Events - Archived News
April 6, 2009

CHASE Presents Scholarships, Distinguished Service Awards at Annual Meeting

The Health Care Administration program and the Center for Health and Aging Services Excellence (CHASE) announced 2009 scholarship and distinguished service award recipients at the annual spring banquet held April 2, 2009 at the Plaza Hotel in Eau Claire, Wis. Over 250 participants attended the annual event.

Over $4,000 in scholarships were presented to UW-Eau Claire health care administration students. The distinguished student award was presented to Patrick Senzig, junior health care administration student from Lyndon Station, Wis. Duncan McDougall, CEO of Pathway Health Services and member of the CHASE Board of advisors received the distinguished service award. Kevin Larson, 1988 alumni of the health care administration program and Administrator of Spring Valley Health Care Center, received the Distinguished Alumni Award; and Margie Ignarski, Regional Director of Operations for Extendicare and 1988 health care administration graduate received the Distinguished Preceptor Award.

CHASE is a unique partnership that combines the energy of academia, health and aging services organizations and professional associations. The Center focuses on influencing the health and aging services profession through positive program enhancements for health care administration students, partner organizations, and the health and aging services field.

2008-2009 Health Care Administration Scholarship Recipients

  • Golden Living: Lisa Neumann & Elisabeth Ullom
  • Extendicare: Amy Rohrer & Beth Schroeder
  • Gene Decker Scholarship: Jennifer Blasko
  • Wisconsin Association of Homes and Services for the Aging: Nicole Barcz
  • Wisconsin Health Care Association: Amber Boyce-Fisk
  • Wisconsin Assisted Living Association: Jill Fagerlund
  • Tri-County Medical Alliance: Amanda Gentilli
  • Good Samaritan Society: Ashley Kornhoff
  • HCR ManorCare: Liz Klair & Katie Hebert
  • Kindred: McKenzie Johnson
  • Civic Engagement: Rebekah Streit

Two students, Cassandra Stremer and Zach Haag, received the Heyde Health Care Entrepreneurial award. This award recognizes the most entrepreneurial student leadership project by an active practicum student.

Randy Lindner, President and CEO of the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB), pictured with health care administration faculty Douglas Olson and Jennifer Johs-Artisensi, presented the keynote address "Planting the Seeds of Success" at the 2009 CHASE Spring Banquet.