Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
News & Events - Archived News
April 15, 2009

Beta Gamma Sigma to Initiate New Members April 25, Theresa Wells to be Recognized

The UW-Eau Claire chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS), the honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International—The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, will hold its annual initiation, Saturday, April 25, 2009 at 1 pm in the Davies Center Alumni Room. The event will be held in conjunction with the university's Honors Week, a time set aside by the university to recognize students of high scholastic achievement.

Initiation ceremony will be conducted by Dr. Meg Devine, BGS chapter president, and Dr. Kristy Lauver, BGS faculty adviser. Ms. Theresa Wells, Management and Marketing, will be recognized at the event as the Beta Gamma Sigma Outstanding Professor.

Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest honor bestowed upon business students at institutions accredited by AACSB International. Students are invited to join the organization by their business school faculty. To be eligible for invitation, students must be in the upper 7 percent of the junior class, or upper 10 percent of the senior class.

Beta Gamma Sigma was founded as a national organization on February 19, 1913. BGS has 430 collegiate chapters in 11 countries and on four continents. The society's membership of more than 540,000 includes leaders in all fields of industry, government and academia.

2009 Beta Gamma Sigma Initiates

  • Nikole Barcz, a senior health care administration student from Madison, WI
  • Nick Goeman, a senior accounting and operations/ materials management double major from Chippewa Falls, WI
  • Brittany Graber, a junior business finance major from Turtle Lake, WI
  • Emily Kurth, a senior management major from Eau Claire, WI
  • Carrie Meyer, a junior HR management major from Augusta, WI
  • Jessica Niesing, a senior HR management major from Oostburg, WI
  • Danika Reed, a senior marketing analytics major from Moose Lake, MN
  • Kathryn Sjoberg, a senior health care administration major from Shoreview, MN
  • Scott Steege, a junior business finance major from Rochester, MN
  • Maria Turon, a senior accounting major from Russia