Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
News & Events - Archived News
August 19, 2008

Germonprez Receives Teaching Excellence Award

Matt Germonprez
Dr. Matt Germonprez, assistant professor of information systems, and seven other university faculty and staff members were recognized for excellence by Chancellor Brian Levin-Stankevich during the university's opening meeting August 19, 2008.

Germonprez, who joined the UW-Eau Claire faculty in 2005, received the Excellence in Teaching Award. Alumni select the award recipient.

Germonprez, who teaches upper-level information systems classes in design and development, is admired by students for his responsiveness to their questions and suggestions, as well as his ability to make difficult courses enjoyable, said Dr. Thomas Hilton, chair of the information systems department.

"Iíve watched Matt take feedback from students on how to improve some aspect of a course and then right there plan modifications to the lectures, assignments, exams, schedule and grading extemporaneously to address the issue raised by the students," Hilton said. "His students have commented to me repeatedly on this, observing that he is the only professor theyíve ever had who could be so quickly responsive without sacrificing quality or efficiency."

Hilton also noted Germonprez's "ability to make students love him for working them harder than they thought possible. Every semester I find in his course evaluations comments like, 'This is the hardest course Iíve ever taken, and Iíve never enjoyed a course more!'"

Germonprez also teaches in a way that prepares students to continue learning about a subject area once they've completed a course, Hilton noted. "This is essential in the ever-changing field of organizational computing that is information systems," he said.

As an Excellence award recipient, Germonprez received the University Medallion and a $1,500 check from the UW-Eau Claire Foundation. The Excellence in Teaching Award is funded by Markquart Chevrolet, Markquart Motors and Markquart Toyota of Eau Claire.

2008 Excellence Award Recipients

UW-Eau Claire's 2008 faculty and staff excellence award recipients are (left to right) Dr. Matt Germonprez, Dr. Rosemary Jadack, Dr. Jeanie Geurink, Dr. Shyam Chadha, Robin Baker, Marjorie Frankenberger, Dr. J. Brian Mahoney and Dr. Theresa Kemp. (UW-Eau Claire photo by Rick Mickelson)

Source: UW-Eau Claire News Bureau