Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
News & Events - Archived News
April 14, 2008

CHASE Presents Scholarship and Distinguished Service Awards at Annual Meeting

The Center for Health and Aging Services Excellence (CHASE) announced its 2008 scholarship and distinguished service award recipients at its annual spring banquet held April 10, 2008 at The Plaza in Eau Claire, WI. Over 250 participants attended the annual event.

Over $4,000 in scholarships were presented to UW-Eau Claire health care administration students. Distinguished service awards were presented to Marie Tratnik and Carleigh Nelson, senior health care administration students and currently in practicum in New Berlin, Wis. and New Hope, Minn., respectively; Marty Metten, Vice President of Heyde Companies in Chippewa Falls, Wis., and Duane Larson, Vice President of Operations for Presbyterian Homes of Minnesota. Larson is a 1992 graduate of the UW-Eau Claire health care administration program. Both Marty Metten and Duane Larson serve on the CHASE Board of Advisors.

CHASE is a unique partnership that combines the energy of academia, provider organizations and professional associations. The Center focuses on influencing the health and aging services profession through positive program enhancements for health care administration students and secondarily on partner organizations.

»View the CHASE website

2008 CHASE Distinguished Award Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Award:
Duane Larson, VP of Operations, Presbyterian Homes of Minnesota; Roseville, MN

Distinguished Service Award:
Marty Metten, VP, Heyde Companies, Chippewa Falls, WI

Distinguished Student Award:
Marie Tratnik, Racine, WI
Carleigh Nelson, Edina, MN

2007-08 Health Care Administration Scholarship Recipients

  • Civic Engagement ($500): Amber Boyce-Fisk
  • Extendicare Foundation ($250): Lisa Neumann
  • Gene Decker Scholarship ($500): Rachel Frank
  • Golden Ventures ($250 each): Jennifer Blasko and Betsy Thompson
  • Good Samaritan Society ($250): Kristine Betz
  • HCR Manor Care ($500): Jill Fagerlund
  • Kindred ($250 each): Angela Bulger
  • Tri-County Medical Alliance ($200): Zach Haag
  • Wisconsin Association of Homes and Services for the Aging ($500): Megan Johnson
  • Wisconsin Health Care Association ($500):Rebekah Streit


CHASE Banquet 2008 Award Winners

Winners of the 2008 CHASE Distinguished award recipients from left to right: Duane Larson, Distinguished Alumni award; Marty Metten, Distinguished Service award; Carleigh Nelson, Distinguished Student award, and Marie Tratnik, Distinguished Student award