Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
News & Events - Archived News
April 18, 2006

COB Faculty Recognized for their Contribution to Service-Learning

Susan Haugen, Accounting and Finance, and Scott Lester, Management and Marketing, were awarded the UW-Eau Claire Faculty Excellence in Service-Learning award at the 8th Annual UW-Eau Claire Service-Learning Recognition Breakfast, held April 11, 2006 in the UW-Eau Claire Davies Center.

Haugen was a member of the initial UW-Eau Claire Task Force on Diversity, which developed the recommendation for a service-learning component as part of the Re-defined Baccalaureate Degree. In addition to her role in establishing and implementing the service-learning program, she has been an active member of the UW-Eau Claire Academic Affairs Advisory Committee for Service-Learning. Haugen has also served as the faculty mentor for over 50 students. 

Lester has mentored over 55 students and their co-curricular service-learning projects. In addition, Lester and Jill Kickul (DePaul University), and his UW-Eau Claire colleagues Chuck Tomkovick, Theresa Wells, and LaNette Flunker, are studying the value-added dimensions of service-learning from the standpoint of multiple stakeholders. Their article "Does Service Learning Add Value? Examining the Perspectives of Multiple Stakeholders", was published in 2005 in the Academy of Management Learning & Education, 4 (3), 279-294.

Susan Haugen

Left: Sue Haugen, Right: Benita Wagner, Service Learning, Scott Lester, and Don Mowry, Service Learning Director