Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
News & Events - Archived News
Aug. 24, 2004

Theresa Wells Receives UW-Eau Claire Excellence in Advising Award

Theresa Wells

Six University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire faculty and staff members received excellence awards today (Aug. 24) during the opening meeting of the 2004-05 academic year.

Chancellor Donald Mash, UW-Eau Claire Foundation Chairman David Anderson and Lee Markquart of Eau Claire presented the awards. Recipients received a university medallion and $1,500 from the UW-Eau Claire Foundation in recognition of their commitment to excellence.

Theresa Wells, senior lecturer of management and marketing, is the recipient of the Excellence in Advising Award. The award recognizes effective advising qualities and practices.

Wells has been a member of the university community since 1993. In supporting her nomination for the Excellence award, her advisees noted her exceptional commitment and willingness to provide career guidance. She also has provided extensive service in advising the American Production and Inventory Control Society student organization.

"Terry is a fantastic adviser," said Robert Sutton, chair of the management and marketing department. "She is the adviser for the student chapter of the American Production and Inventory Control Society organization and has 80-90 advisees. Under Terry's tutelage, the chapter has become one of the most organized and active organizations on campus. Members regularly tour companies, participate in regional and national competitions, and are involved in the community.

"Students tell me that Terry is the most caring and dedicated adviser they've had. She takes time to help them in course scheduling, answer their questions, work through problems and assist them in career planning. She schedules advising sessions at times that work for students. She also goes out of her way to help them find internships and full-time positions when they graduate. Because of her caring attitude and dedication, many students have specifically asked to have Terry as their adviser."

To identify an Excellence in Advising Award recipient, Student Senate leaders sent a survey to the student body asking students to nominate advisers. Based on those nominations, the Student Senate Academic Affairs Commission forwarded five names to the Faculty Awards Committee. The committee then sent e-mails to the nominees' advisees asking them to fill out a survey about their adviser. The committee used that feedback to select Wells as the recipient.

- UW-Eau Claire News Bureau