print header
The Forum display panel

The Forum Display

The first 65 years of The Forum at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire are celebrated in a display panel that hangs near the entrance to The Dulany Inn, Davies Center 122. The Forum maintains a tradition of being one of the longest continuous programs of its kind in the United States. Since 1942, the speaker series has presented many of the world's greatest minds and imaginations.

The Forum display panel

President W.R. Davies established The Forum within the first year of his administration, to express his vision of what the college might become as a cultural center. He transformed Eau Claire's after-dinner speakers club into a college-community partnership that selected an average of five speakers a year. Each Forum speaker would lecture for an hour, answer questions for half an hour, and then attend an informal reception. This has been the format of The Forum from its inception.

The Forum display panel was designed in 2008 by Maria Nocenti, a student graphic designer and photographer who worked for the University Centers for four years (2004–2008) and received a BFA in graphic design from UW-Eau Claire in 2007. She selected photographs of the following past speakers to visually represent the first 65 seasons of The Forum.

Hank Aaron
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
Bella Abzug
Sherman Alexie
Jack Anderson
Maya Angelou
Dennis Barrie
Mary Frances Berry
Bruno Bettelheim
Peter Bogdanovich
Julian Bond
Margaret Bourke-White
Ben Bradlee
David Broder
Gwendolyn Brooks
Pearl S. Buck
William F. Buckley
Victor Buono
James Burke
Yvonne Brathwaite Burke
Leo Buscaglia
Helen Caldicott
Bennett Cerf
Shirley Chisholm
Noam Chomsky
Ramsey Clark
Norman Cousins
Jean-Michel Cousteau
Judith Crist
Angela Davis
Richard Dawkins
Frank Deford
Vine Deloria Jr.
Bernard De Voto
Morton Downey Jr.
Will Durant
Roger Ebert
Paul Ehrlich
Charles Evers
Mike Farrell

Dian Fossey
Pauline Frederick
Milton Friedman
Buckminster Fuller
John Kenneth Galbraith
George Gallup
Georgie Anne Geyer
Jane Goodall
Ellen Goodman
Andrew Greeley
Tyrone Guthrie
Seymour Hersh
Jim Hightower
John Houseman
Charlayne Hunter-Gault
Molly Ivins
Jesse Jackson
Michio Kaku
Thomas Kean
Garrison Keillor
Robert F. Kennedy Jr.
Coretta Scott King
Larry King
Martin Luther King Jr.
Henry Kissinger
Maggie Kuhn
Winona LaDuke
Anne Lamott
Elsa Lanchester
Richard Lederer
Sinclair Lewis
Li Lu
George McGovern
Rod McKuen
Margaret Mead
Ed Meese
Pierre Mendès France
James Meredith
Ashley Montagu
Michael Moore

Ralph Nader
Gaylord Nelson
Edward James Olmos
P.J. O’Rourke
M. Scott Peck
George Plimpton
Alvin Poussaint
Yitzhak Rabin
José Ramos-Horta
James Randi
Richard Reeves
Jack Reynolds
Paul Rusesabagina
Carl Sagan
Phyllis Schlafly
Arthur Schlesinger Jr.
Daniel Schorr
Bernie Siegel
Beverly Sills
Ken Silverstein
Gene Siskel
Gloria Steinem
Clifford Stoll
Nadine Strossen
Andrew Sullivan
Studs Terkel
Dorothy Thompson
Nina Totenberg
Arnold Toynbee
Mark Van Doren
Cornel West
Ruth Westheimer
William Westmoreland
Simon Wiesenthal
Sir Harold Wilson
William Windom
John Wooden
Andrew Young
Howard Zinn