UW-Eau Claire Alumni

Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award
2014 Recipients

Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award: Recognizes distinguished service to the community, state or nation in a manner that brings credit upon the recipient and the university.

Kerry Kincaid and Gary Berg are both receiving the Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award.

Kerry Kincaid

Kincaid is a 1993 political science graduate and 1996 social studies graduate. Since 1992 she has served in various elected offices starting with the Town of Washington board of supervisors. Kincaid also served as a commissioner to the Eau Claire County Housing Authority, Eau Claire County board of supervisors and the Eau Claire Plan Commission. In 2004 she ran for and was elected to the Eau Claire City Council. In 2009 she was elected council president and was re-elected to the position in April 2014.

Kincaid demonstrates true lifelong educational learning. She began her career as a registered nurse before an interest in public policy led her to complete her degree in political science at UW-Eau Claire. Kincaid continued her education by completing a master's degree in library science from UW-Madison. She worked as a librarian in UW-Eau Claire's McIntyre Library and is currently working toward a doctorate in leadership at the University of St. Thomas.

Kincaid and her husband, Dan, are generous supporters of the UW-Eau Claire Foundation. They funded the Pre-Med Mentoring program for a number of years and continue to support a pre-med scholarship and a general support fund for the political science department. They also are members of the Foundation's Circle of Excellence.

Gary Berg

Berg, a 1979 UW-Eau Claire English graduate, has made a career out of entertainment in the Midwest. After working in higher education administration for 10 years, Berg shifted gears and started G.L. Berg Entertainment, a talent agency successfully representing more than 100 professional acts and booking more than 3,000 shows a year.

Berg selects the talent he works with very carefully with a goal to provide quality, nonoffensive entertainment suitable for people of all ages. So far, the company has written more than 30,000 contracts and booked more than 600 acts throughout 49 states across the U.S., as well as Japan, China, India, Mexico and Canada. Some of the acts contracted by G.L. Berg Entertainment include Al Franken, Foreigner, Frank Caliendo, Keith Urban and Arun Ghandi.

"In business, I am most proud of the company we have built based on honesty, integrity, hard work and a lot of creativity," Berg said. "I found a need in the marketplace and built a company around it. Our customer loyalty and satisfaction is second to no one in our field in the world."

Berg and his wife, Judy, live and work in St. Cloud. Their son, Nate, is following in his father's footsteps and runs the company's satellite office in Minneapolis. The company also has an office in Menomonie, where Berg grew up.

The experiences Berg gained while a student at UW-Eau Claire had a major role in preparing him for a successful life and career, he said.

"I was challenged to truly think liberally about everything I read and heard," Berg said. "There are so many good ideas and many points of view; no one has all the right answers, and I certainly learned to be open-minded and nonjudgmental."

View the list of past recipients of this award.