This browser does not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's intended design. May we suggest that you upgrade your browser?

The University Senate is a deliberative body empowered to act for the University Faculty and the University Academic Staff in matters of faculty and academic staff responsibility and concern.

Senate Information


The next meeting of the University Senate is scheduled for Tuesday, September 23, 2014 at 3:00 p.m. in the Dakota Ballroom of Davies Center.

Vacancies for upcoming University Senate Elections

Under Wisconsin State Statute 36.09, primary responsibility for curricular matters and faculty personnel policy rests with the University Faculty, and primary responsibility for academic staff personnel policy rests with the University Academic Staff.

University Senate is based on the Faculty and Academic Staff Constitution and Bylaws found in the Faculty and Academic Staff Rules and Procedures. Meetings are conducted using Robert's Rules of Order, Newly Revised, 11th Edition.

All University Senate meetings are open to the public and are held in Davies Center at the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire.

Agendas, handouts, and minutes of open meetings of:
- Faculty Personnel Committee
- Academic Staff Personnel Committee
- Academic Policies Committee
- Compensation Committee
- Budget Committee
- Physical Plant Planning Committee
- Technology Committee

The University Senate Office is responsible for conducting elections for those university committees established in the Faculty and Academic Staff Constitution. The Secretary to the Faculty and Academic Staff (a concurrent position with University Senate Secretary) keeps the minutes of faculty and academic staff meetings.

The Senate Office is located in the Old Library, Room 1130. It is open most mornings during the academic year.

Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.