print header



Lynne Kohlhepp PhotoUW-Eau Claire alumnus, Lynne Kohlhepp, was presented the Wisconsin Special Services Teacher of the Year award on September 18, 2013. Lynne is a special education teacher at Wausau West High School. Lynne graduated from UW-Eau Claire in 1980 with a comprehensive degree in Mental Retardation and Elementary Education. Lynne also received her Master's Degree in Learning Disabilities in 1984. “She is totally dedicated to advance our students’ achievement and success in learning, which is totally what our school district is all about,” Wausau Superintendent Kathleen Williams said. “She takes a personal interest in all of her students, and it shows in the achievement they’re moving forward with. She’s extraordinary.”


Photo of Minkowan GooWelcome Minkowan Goo to our faculty!




Photo of Barb MeierWelcome Barb Meier to our faculty!




Rose Battalio and Angela Dalhoe will present at the Council for Children with Behavioral Disorders (CCBD) conference in Chicago, IL in late September.

Best wishes to Steve Dempsey and Joe Morin who retired.  They will be missed!

Congratulations to Samantha Yozamp who received a student scholarship from the Wisconsin State Reading Association for her interest in and dedication to literacy.

Cathy Thorsen made two presentations at the Hawaii International Conference on Education in Honolulu, HI in January 2013.

Anne Papalia made a presentation at the 2012 TASH Conference in Long Beach, CA in November 2012.

Cathy Thorsen attended the DPI state superintendent's conference on Special Education and Pupil Services in Madison in November 2012.

Anne Papalia made two presentations at the Teacher Education Division of Council of Exceptional Children National Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan in November 2012.

Student Council for Exceptional Children (SCEC) received the October 2012 award for Student Organization of the Month by the Student Organizations and Leadership Center. 

Dr. Anne PapaliaWelcome Anne Papalia to our faculty!





Special Education Faculty Receive UW-Eau Claire Awards

  • 1991 Excellence in Teaching Award, Dr. Vicki Snider
  • 1998 Excellence in Teaching Award, Dr. Greg Conderman
  • 2001 Excellence in Teaching Award, Dr. J. Todd Stephens
  • 2003 Excellence in Scholarship Award, Dr. Vicki Snider
  • 2004 Excellence in Teaching Award, Dr. Rose Battalio
  • 2007 UW-Eau Claire's Nominee for the CASE Outstanding Professor Award, Dr. Vicki Snider



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.