print header

Dr. Jennifer Muehlenkamp receives prestigious Edwin S. Schneidman award

Muehlenkamp ADr. Jennifer Muehlenkamp has won the prestigious Edwin S. Shneidman Award from the American Association of Suicidology (AAS). The Shneidman Award is given to individuals who have made outstanding research contributions in the field of suicidology early in their careers.  Eligible nominees must be under 40 years of age or not more than 10 years past their highest degree earned.

Dr. Edwin Shneidman was the founding president of AAS, and the first Shneidman Award was given in 1973. Many past recipients of this award are recognized today as eminent scholars in the field of suicidology. In order to be considered for the award, nominations must come from experts in the field. Dr. Muehlenkamp's work has attracted the attention of a number of suicidologists. As one of her nominators said, "Jennifer is the embodiment of the scientist-practitioner. She has focused her research on non-suicidal self-injury, rapidly establishing herself as an expert in this area."