University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire


News Bureau . Schofield Hall 201 . Eau Claire, WI 54702
phone: (715) 836-4741
fax: (715) 836-2900

UW-Eau Claire Commencement
To Be Held Dec. 18 in Zorn Arena

 MAILED:  Dec. 9, 2004

EAU CLAIRE — Winter commencement exercises for 661 students at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire will be held Saturday, Dec. 18, in Zorn Arena.

Candidates from the College of Business, the College of Education and Human Sciences and the College of Nursing and Health Sciences will receive degrees during a 9:30 a.m. ceremony. Candidates from the College of Arts and Sciences and candidates for master's degrees will receive degrees during a 2 p.m. ceremony.

A remote site broadcast of the ceremony may be viewed in the Davies Theatre of Davies Center. This option is available to accommodate additional guests. Doors to the Davies Theatre will open at 8:15 a.m. for the morning ceremony and at 12:45 p.m. for the afternoon ceremony. No tickets for the remote site viewing are required.

A total of 642 students are candidates for bachelor's degrees, 17 students are candidates for master's degrees and two students are candidates for specialist in education degrees. Of the candidates for bachelor's degrees, 285 are from the College of Arts and Sciences, 164 are from the College of Business, 147 are from the College of Education and Human Sciences, and 46 are from the College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

Chancellor Donald Mash will preside over the ceremonies and confer degrees. Dr. Steven Tallant, associate vice chancellor for academic affairs, will present the baccalaureate candidates, and the deans of the colleges will present the diplomas. Andrew Phillips, interim dean of graduate studies and interim associate vice chancellor for academic affairs, and Donald P. Christian, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, will present diplomas and hood the candidates for graduate degrees and specialist in education degrees.

UW System president Kevin Reilly will deliver the "Charge to the Class" at both the morning and afternoon ceremonies.

John Brumund-Smith, Dane, a candidate for a bachelor of science degree in kinesiology, will deliver the "Reflections" during the morning ceremony. Neil Roy Jurgella, Stevens Point, a candidate for a bachelor of art s degree in history, will deliver the "Reflections" during the afternoon ceremony.

Receiving the President's Award will be 1980 graduate Dr. George Arndt, professor in the department of anesthesiology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison; 1983 graduate Juli Ann Buehler, news director at WLUK-TV, Green Bay; and 1976 graduate Dr. Jorge Won, an optometrist in private practice and founder of the New York Chapter of Volunteer Optometric Services to Humanity. The President's Award recognizes outstanding professional or personal achievement or service to UW-Eau Claire.

Receiving the Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award will be 1975 graduate Col. Stuart Knoll, a retired colonel in the Marine Corps; 1979 graduate Lisa Stark, circuit court judge; and 1974 graduate Brent L. Willi, president and chief executive officer of Strategy 1 Consulting, Inc. This award recognizes distinguished service to the community, state or nation in a manner that does credit to the award recipient and UW-Eau Claire.

Dr. Sharon Marie Weber, an assistant professor with the UW Medical School specializing in surgery of the liver and biliary tract, will receive the Outstanding Recent Alumnus Award, which acknowledges the special achievements and great promise of alumni who are within 15 years of their UW-Eau Claire graduation. Weber, who is unable to attend the commencement ceremonies, graduated from UW-Eau Claire in 1989.

All other awardees will receive their awards at the morning ceremony.

Retired physician Dr. Ralph Hudson and Peggy Hudson of Eau Claire will receive Honorary Alumnus Awards, which is presented to non-alumni who have demonstrated great love of and service to UW-Eau Claire.

Casey Sylla, a 1966 graduate now president of Allstate Financial and senior vice president of Allstate Insurance Company, will receive the Lifetime Excellence Award. This award is presented to alumni who have demonstrated long-time and successful commitment to their careers and communities and made a positive and dramatic impact through enthusiastic dedication to service and UW-Eau Claire's motto: "Excellence."

Dr. Susan M. Harrison, associate professor of computer science and chair of the University Senate, will serve as commencement marshal. Leading the national anthem and the "University Alma Mater" during the morning ceremony will be Christina Joanna Burgess, Wausau, a candidate for a bachelor of music education degree. Leading the national anthem during the afternoon ceremony will be Michael James Rambo, Altoona, a candidate for a bachelor of music degree. Emelia Lynne Polodna, La Crosse, a candidate for a bachelor of music degree, will lead the "University Alma Mater" at the afternoon ceremony.

The UW-Eau Claire Symphony Band, conducted by Phillip A. Ostrander, will provide music for the ceremonies.

Paula Lentz, lecturer, department of business communication, will read the candidates' names during both the morning and afternoon ceremonies.

A reception for graduates and guests will follow each ceremony in the Spruce-Tamarack Room of Davies Center.



UW-Eau Claire Home

Excellence. Our measure, our motto, our goal.

 Judy Berthiaume, Director
UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
Schofield 201
(715) 836-4741

Updated: December 13, 2004