past issues

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Summer Bulletin
Faculty/Staff News
Vol. 2, No. 3
Third Week
Summer Session
June 24, 2002

Continuing Education 
Mary Ellen Stolder recently was appointed to the Wisconsin Nurses Association Continuing Education Approval Program Committee. The committee is responsible for approving continuing education providers and program designs.

Foundations of Education 
Jill Prushiek received a Friend of Education Award at the Eau Claire Area School District 2002 Celebration of Service Banquet May 22 at UW-Eau Claire. The award recognized Prushiek's dedication and hard work on behalf of students in the Eau Claire schools. Prushiek has collaborated with the school district to present workshops on mentoring, new teacher induction and new teacher support seminars.

Social Work 
Leonard Gibbs co-authored a paper titled "Making Practice Decisions: Is What's Good for the Goose, Good for the Gander?" that was published in Ethical Human Sciences and Services, Vol. 4, No. 1, pages 31-45.

Faculty, academic staff promotions announced 
A number of faculty and staff at UW-Eau Claire were awarded promotions in rank and/or tenure and other changes of status during the UW System Board of Regents' June meeting.
     Faculty promoted to professor are Eugene Hood, art; Wilson Taylor, biology; Johannes Strohschank, foreign languages and curriculum and instruction; Paul Thomas, physics and astronomy; Jeremy Hein, sociology; Lee Anna Rasar, allied health professions; Steve Tallant, social work; and Sheila Smith, adult health nursing.
     Faculty granted tenure and promoted to associate professor are Jill Prushiek, foundations of education; Li-Ying Bao, art; Sandra Starck, art; Theresa Kemp, English; Asha Sen, English; Mary Iribarren, foreign languages; Martina Lindseth, foreign languages; Garry Running, geography and anthropology; Daniel Strouthes, geography and anthropology; Michael Howe, mathematics; Michael Penkava, mathematics; Edward Beach, philosophy and religious studies; Lyle Ford, physics and astronomy; George Stecher, physics and astronomy; Rodd Freitag, political science; James Tubbs, political science; David Jewett, psychology; Gregory Madden, psychology; and Stephen Elfstrand, library services.
     Faculty promoted to associate professor are Evan Weiher, biology; Phillip Ihinger, geology; Cynthia Gray-Mash, foundations of education; Katherine Rhoades, foundations of education; Karen Maddox, family health nursing; and Barbara Stevens, library services.
     Donald Bredle, kinesiology and athletics, was granted tenure.
     Academic staff members who received promotions and title changes are Scott Gaulke, mathematics, to lecturer; R. Todd Glaser, kinesiology and athletics, to lecturer; Kathryn Kennedy, philosophy and religious studies, to lecturer; Lori Snyder, geology, to senior lecturer; Kelly Jo Wright, communication and journalism, to senior lecturer; Kay Magadance, Institutional Planner, to senior policy and planning analyst; Terry McDonald, Housing and Residence Life, to senior residence hall manager; Connie Russell, Records and Registration, to associate registrar; and Mary Ellen Stolder, Continuing Education, to outreach program manager II.
     Academic staff members granted indefinite status are Dale Johnson, Financial Aid; Peggy Kincaid, Student Health Service; Cheryl Lochner-Wright, Center for International Education; Thomas Patt, University Recreation; and Kristen Sandager, Student Health Service.

Summer Bulletin
Published weekly during the summer session by the UW-Eau Claire News Bureau. News items and notices should be sent to the News Bureau, Schofield 201, by 10 a.m. Monday for publication in the following week’s issue. E-mail submissions are encouraged. Faculty/staff news items are published on a space-available basis.

Summer Bulletin  In Brief  Calendar of Events  Official Notices 

  UW-Eau Claire Home  News Bureau    

  Liz Wolf Green, Editor
  UW-Eau Claire News Bureau
  Schofield 201
  (715) 836-4741
  · Diane Walkoff, Editorial Assistant ·

  Updated: June 24, 2002